We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Trethew Manor Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Great Trethew Manor Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 57 Restaurants in Liskeard
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

service in restaurant was good . the food was average for the price though game meats definately a plus
portions were very good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank vijay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breaky....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Good breakfast at a good price..... Set us up for the day :)
Unlimited toast, tea, coffee etc, all cooked fresh and cooked well.
Me, hubby, kids and other family and friends all seemed to enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meat Meat and more Meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We decided to go to Great Trethew as my daughter was returning to university and to give her a send off, age ranges from 5 years to 68.
When we arrived we were welcomed into the bar by a roaring log fire and were given the choice of which bar to sit in.
As this can be boring for little ones I took the youngest out to see the peacocks and pigs, this allowed the others the opportunity to order our meals and not have a five year old keep saying ' whens it coming?'!
When the food arrived he was ravenous from running around, sat and ate all his food and most of the bread rolls!
We all had different meals with my son opting for the 'meats of the world', each piece had a little flag stuck in it which told him what he was eating which he enjoyed.
My brother in law had the game pie, my daughter had the scallops and crevettes, and if you knew her you would know that she does not eat food that's difficult to consume ie bones or shells, but she was more than happy to shell the crevettes as we were in a friendly happy place and I bet she didn't want to moan.
The chicken supreme was supreme.
I must say we were all happy with what we had, sufficiently stuffed, warm and generally ready for hibernation.
So its a thumbs up from our family for this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so "Great" Trethew”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Terrible food, the baguettes were as hard as rocks, the chips and prawns cooked to oblivion, no rolls with the burgers and everything came with broccoli and carrots (even the prawns and scallops). Friendly service but the food is awful and extortionately priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

They have recently started doing Sunday lunch we went for their first try on March 3rd and were quite pleasantly surprised, nice cosy atmosphere with the log fires burning and the meat and veg was very fresh and tasty, well done hope this continues, will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Trethew Manor Restaurant also viewed

 
Liskeard, Cornwall
 

Been to Great Trethew Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing