We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable break”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We used Trip Advisor to choose this hotel for a short break in Cornwall during Whit week.It lived up to expectations.Our hosts were very professional, welcoming and friendly. Surprisingly the hotel was not full but this did not spoil the atmosphere. We took dinner on each of our three nights and the food was consistently excellent using fresh local produce. We would thoroughly recommend it.

A gem of a hotel in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a balcony with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamandhelen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

My husband and I (Australian tourists) stayed here for 5nights in the Spring and absolutely loved this English country house. The decor, service and food were all excellent. The room (with ensuite bathroom) was clean and quiet, beautifully furnished, and had gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside. The location was excellent - only a 5minute walk to the train station, and centrally located for all our exploration of the Cornish countryside by car. We would definitely stay there again and would happily recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simshar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We spent three nights here over last weekend. We had one of the smaller rooms but it was immaculate and the bathroom looked like it had just been put in. The Emmersons have renovated this hotel over the last eight years and their attention to detail is very impressive. Everything is just as it should be. Meals were of high quality. The Emmersons were extremely helpful and took an interest in us. I never write hotel reviews but this place is special - and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardacland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The Emmersons were very hospitable, and the Pencubitt is a lovely inn in a beautiful setting. The best surprise was the meals - Mr. Emmerson was a chef earlier in life, and he has retained his skills in that area. The dinner here was the best on our entire 18 day/6 city trip through England and Scotland! The room was spacious, with a great view of the nearby countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pactrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

only stayed one night with 2 aunties, but we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and echo all the comments of previous posts. One of us had the room with the balcony.. fabulous.. book it if you can.. worth the extra. Train station is a few minutes walk but my aunties prefered to get the bus from Liskeard to Looe for their day out, and loved it. Recommend to anyone and we got a good deal through late rooms as it was off season. Also there was free wifi in all areas, something the big chains have still not supplied and is a big reason for myself to chose a hotel, so full marks all round.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We only stayed one night, but I felt I had to say what a wonderful place Pencubitt is. We were made to feel at home from the moment we walked in the door. Beautiful house, wonderful atmosphere, excellent hosts. We didn't have an evening meal, but after the delicious breakfast the morning we left, we wished we had.
Clive and Dorette, you should be proud of what you have achieved.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Great hotel - friendly and helpful service, beautiful location and value for money - complete gem!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmd385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
14 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
15.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
12.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing