We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Beautiful house and decor. Owners super friendly, welcoming and very good cooks. We had room 9, the one with the big slipper bath... I wanted to take the bath home - gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here to explore the local areas of Looe, Polperro, and Liskeard and get some much needed relaxation, the hotel and its owners delivered on every level, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome from arrival. The superking bedroom was lovely and the slipper bath was fantastic! Evening meal was perfectly cooked and delicious, and on the strength of everything, my Fiance and I would be hard pushed to want to stay anywhere else the next time we travel into Cornwall.

Room Tip: Room 9 (superking size bed, large bathroom with toilet, shower, and slipper bath) and good view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Another perfect stay at the idyllic Pencubitt Country House.

Set in lovely grounds and in the middle of the Looe Valley surrounded by fields we really didn't want to leave and can't wait til our next visit.

Rooms wonderful...... clean with the most comfortable bed we have encountered in a long time ..... the best breakfast ..... and of course Clive and Doretta are the perfect hosts!

See you soon!!

Olive & Gray

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliveandgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great hotel, very nice couple. Would stay again on next visit to Trago Mills.

Room Tip: We had room No 9 with great views and lovely bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeststevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband booked this as a birthday surprise for me and it was wonderful. The hotel looks magnificent as you approach it, and once inside we received a very warm welcome. Our rooms were extremely comfortable - teenage son was happy being at the far end of the hotel from us! The views over the countryside were extensive, and the full English breakfasts set us up for the day. Clive and Dorette had plenty of suggestions for things to do during the day as Liskeard is well placed for travelling in Cornwall and Western Devon. Their restaurant recommendations for the weekend evenings were first class (they don't cook in the evenings at weekends). We had a wonderful Easter break and staying at Pencubitt made it even better. I am sure we will be back as I have even more relatives to find!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I (in our 50's) decided to return to the area, well known to us in our younger days.
I now realise why this hotel was given such a good rating. It would not be an exaggeration to call it a real gem. The couple that own it are very friendly, helpful and competent (in perfect balance). The pictures show the style, but don't do it justice. The lounge and dining room in particular were a delight, and beautifully kept. The hotel is probably best suited to those who enjoy a peaceful setting. We had the balcony room, and when the weather permitted it was lovely to take in the valley view. We saw a buzzard close by. A regular by all accounts. Our room was a good size, including the ensuite. The room cleanliness was first class.
We had the inclusive breakfast every morning. All the usual items including fresh fruit salad. The full english matched the high standards with quality bacon and a local herby sausage. We had the 3 course dinner on our first night, and if I've a nicer lamb shank, then I can't remember when. This was our only dinner, as you have to advise them in the morning if you want it ( so they can buy in the fresh ingredients) and we could not be sure to be back. As it turned out we were around for another 2 of the 4 nights, but the guest book shows ample alternatives.
By the way I'm not on a commission, but credit where credit's due.
It's 5 minutes walk to Liskeard station, and I'd recommend the single track train journey to Looe. Only £3.70 off peak return.
I am trying to find a reason to go back soon. What more can I say.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Small owner-run hotel. Owners very friendly and welcoming. Quiet, peaceful setting with lovely garden and rural views. The hotel and rooms are decorated and fitted out to a very high standard and everything is clean and comfortable. The food, both breakfast and dinner, is of a very high standard. Everywhere you look the impression is that the owners place a high priority on attention to detail; and it is the detail that makes a difference.

The downsides are not criticisms, just a reality of running a small hotel. The restaurant is closed for dinner on Saturdays and Sundays (though several local restaurants are not far) and dinner menu choices have to be made at breakfast. If you want pools; gym; sauna etc. this is not the place for you - For us, we look forward to going again before too long.

Room Tip: The King Balcony room is 1st floor room with a large balcony with a table and chairs - great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
886 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
516 reviews
18.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing