We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from a few days leisure break in Cornwall and despite changeable weather we had a fantastic time. We stumbled upon Pencubitt on Google and it stood out immediately because of the website, which is excellent. On arrival, it is quite breath taking. A wonderfully kept building in beautiful grounds.

The hotel is stunning. We stayed in room 9 - at the top of the house. The room is fantastic, with plenty of room and stunning views over fields. We chose that room from the pictures on the website, and we were absolutely delighted with it. Total peace and quiet, which is what we wanted.

The owners, Dorette and Clive are charming and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. They run the hotel with pride, energy and enthusiasm and are without doubt the best hosts of any hotel we have stayed in, here or abroad.

Clive's cooked breakfast is truly something that everyone should enjoy. All locally sourced produce, and boy can you taste the difference!

So in summary, we cannot recommend this hotel and it's owners highly enough. Superb accommodation set in beautiful grounds, wonderful hosts, amazing breakfast.

If you are thinking of a break in Cornwall, this must be at the top of your short list. The only thing you will regret is if you choose to stay somewhere else.

Thank you for a wonderful few days.

Bridie and Darren

Room Tip: All the rooms look nice but room 9 is big with amazing views. At the top of the house but worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazman1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    31
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
41
285
24
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Pencubitt.
In our regular visits to the St. Austell area to visit family we couldn't stay anywhere else.
Clive and Dorette are excellent hosts and their hotel is second to none.
The breakfast is exemplary (thank you Clive) and the rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished the beds are so comfortable you just don't want to get up in the morning!!
Of course... those views of the Looe Valley - well, what can you say - opening the curtains to the stunning scenery is the best start to any day.
See you again soon Pencubitt.
Olive & Graham

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautifully furnished rooms with excellent amenities and great bathrooms and serving superb breakfasts. The beds are exceptionally comfortable, the rooms are very nicely furnished, the guest lounge is a delight, with lots of comfortable areas, plenty of light and lots to read - plus a nice bar if needed. The breakfasts are amazing - everything you could want in fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurt, plus whatever you select for a cooked breakfast, prepared to perfection by Clive. Just remember, if you want the kippers, to let him know the day before! The setting is peaceful, just on the edge of town, overlooking the countryside.

I arrived without a booking late one afternoon in March 2013, and was immediately welcomed and offered choices of rooms. (Of course, when the season gets going, you will probably need a booking.) It was a marvellous place to relax. They do not serve evening meals, but have a detailed guide to all the excellent local alternatives, and will happily help you select and reserve. There's free wi-fi, but coverage in bedrooms is patchy due to very thick walls. If there's a problem, do the electronic communication in the lounge, where the signal is fine. There's also an internet-connected computer that guests can use.

Room Tip: Some have baths with hand showers, others just showers - your preference there may determine which r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peasmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Very comfortable, scrupulously clean, and above all the excellent service. I had to leave early in the morning before breakfast and Clive provided me with a 'packed breakfast to eat' This was way beyond the service which is normally provided. I was in Cornwall on business but I shall make the effort to go back there. Many thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faircross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2012

A beautifully decorated hotel, perfect for a short break. I have stayed a number of times recently in different rooms- all of which were perfectly maintained, spotlessly clean and spacious. Lovely bathrooms and common areas too.

I found the owners to be friendly and helpful without being in anyway intrusive. Would also highly recommend the breakfast-fantastic fruit salad, eggs and mushrooms!

I stayed here as part of a business trip but if I was to come to the area again for leisure I would definitely stay here. A real gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenibbler_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed at the Pencubitt Country House Hotel for a couple of nights when I attended my sons wedding. When I arrived on the Thursday evening I was met by Clive who made me feel immediately welcome. I was the only guest on the 2 nights I was there and as I was attending my sons wedding I did not get a chance to try the restaurant food, however, I did have the breakfast and it was superb. My room was at the top of the house and it had a fantastic bathroom with a roll top bath, separate shower and was very spacious.
The house is in a lovely setting and I would imagine that in the spring or summer the whole area is beautiful.
Clive and Dorret were the perfect hosts and I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had neither heard of this hotel nor read any reviews, but the location was ideal. What a great surprise. As you approach the house from the drive with well tended garden and lawn, you expect comfort, and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered, a pleasant welcome, then help with the luggage to a great bedroom with a lovely view. We had dinner in on two nights and it was superb. The host and hostess are so welcoming and attentive. We have stayed in many hotels and we believe this to be the best on all counts. A definite return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, and though I didn't view any others, I doubt that any ane would be less tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
10.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
660 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Property: Pencubitt House
Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing