We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in a beautiful setting”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely Country House style B&B in a beautiful setting.
The welcome was warm & we were pleased to see the size of the large double room with a lovely view across the neighbouring fields and their lovely gardens.
We received a good recommendation for dinner in a nearby restaurant.
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    31
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
42
294
24
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fantastic rooms , wonderful breakfast and such friendly owners. We spent the weekend ... Definitely sit in the lounge with its gorgeous view ... Shame the weather was not good enough for us to be able to sit in the grounds, can't recommend this place enough. If you love a building with character and relaxed ambience like we do stay here. It's only 5 min walk from the train station and 10 min to the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollicamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited this lovely Guest House for the weekend. It is situated in a quiet road but is accessible to town and the Railway Station is nearby. We were made very welcome by Patrick and Julie. The room was very clean and comfortable. The décor in the rest of the house was tasteful with a lovely lounge to sit in and a small bar. The food was excellent one of the best breakfasts we have had. You could book Dinner if you requested Patrick to cook for you earlier in the day. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will certainly be returning again.
Thank you for making us so welcome Patrick and Julie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Exceptional guest house with an excellent host in Pat. Beautiful location which is also really accessible, being close to a town and main routes in and out of Cornwall. Quiet, serene placing, beautiful gardens and really well kept. House was impeccable, clean, welcoming and stately. We got the newly refurbished room so were spoilt, but if their intentions are to continue refurbishing at the level of quality, the place will be even more special. And to top it all off, a super breakfast, best breakfast I think I have ever had away from home, far better than even a 5 star hotel.Highly highly recommended, super value. We will definitely go back, can't fault at all.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pips19848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have just returned from a stay in Pencubitt.. Fantastic.. A very warm welcome from Patrick and Julie...Food superb .room at all times very clean.. A truly peaceful location... We will see you soon Patrick and Julie.

Room Tip: I could not single out one room all are luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Absolutely brilliant hotel with the best breakfast I have ever had and I have traveled to a lot of hotels and B&B's. The location as far as Liskeard goes is good but to be honest there is not a great deal to do in the town. The main attraction is the railway station which has a great service to Looe, Plymouth and other locales.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raycouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pencubitt is a gorgeous house, very tastefully decorated, comfortably equipped and has spacious gardens and great views. It has a great location on the edge of Liskeard - an easy walk into town but it feels like you're out in the countryside. Patrick and Julie are most welcoming and helpful. Patrick is a great chef - both breakfast and dinner were very tasty and elegantly presented, using locally sourced ingredients. Beds are very comfy with down duvets. They clearly love what they are doing, and are very good at it.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3 which is just being renovated - it has a balcony with amazing views and lots of sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skagittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
863 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
10.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
670 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Property: Pencubitt House
Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing