We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have only joined trip advisor so I could write about how lovely this property and hosts are. We arrived later in the afternoon without a reservation to enquire about a stay for the night. Pat and Julie were more than kind and also provided a delicious dinner that evening at short notice.
Rooms are large and with beautiful views of the surrounding country.
Breakfast the next morning, just as delightful as dinner the night before.
The service sets this house above the others. Nothing was too much trouble and we were also provided with some local knowledge for our trip the next morning.
I would recommend booking dinner when you book your accommodation, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel who know how to look after guests. It was immaculately clean and the food was exceptional. Set in its own grounds, it is peaceful but local enough to facilities to save lots of travelling. Highly recommended for a visit to Cornwall.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clive1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights at Pencubitt while visit Cornwall.

It's a beauitful old building, but the interiors have been done in a beautiful more modern way. No cliched B&B doilies and soft beds here. The hosts have done a lovely job with the place.

Rooms were nicely done, with a great view. Comfortable bedding. The washrooms were well appointed. No critique there.

Breakfast was very good. A basic menu with a good full English and other options. Good fresh fruit. Or you can put in a special order the day before for a few more labour intensive options.

The only negative is poor WiFi in the top floor rooms. We went down to the lounge in hopes that it was better there, but no improvement.

Overall, Pencubitt was a great option in Cornwall. And a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pencubitt Country Guest House is a very nice place with fantastic People as wonderful hosts.
Thank you, Pat and Julie for your hospitality.
We are very happy to have found this place. It is a good starting point to get to know the Cornwall well.

Achim and Karin -Germany-

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Achim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pencubitt always delivers good, friendly service in a lovely setting with comfortable rooms and excellent facilities. I always stay here when I am in Cornwall on business and have brought my family to stay here when visiting the area on holiday.

Room Tip: Talk to Pat about your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Another enjoyable stay at Pencubitt. Excellent large, clean and well equipped rooms in a beautiful grand house. A delightful lounge, and bar, if you have time - which sadly we didn't. Convenient access without miles of "Cornish lanes". Good fill-up breakfast, well prepared with obviously decent ingredients and plenty of choice of fresh fruit, etc. Friendly & helpful host. We booked our next visit before leaving.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Service outstanding. Breakfast stunning - local produce perfectly cooked. Location as peaceful as one could wish for. The house - loved it - we love Victorian architecture. The hosts were extremely helpful. We could not have asked for more

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
886 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,595 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
517 reviews
18.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing