We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant peaceful retreat”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Elegant peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for a short break in summer while I was attending a function in Cornwall.
The house is a beautiful old country house which is very elegant and beautifully decorated.
My room was on the top floor with a a comfy bed and a separate TV sofa leisure area. Bathroom was great with an excellent shower.
If you are coming (or going ) by train then it is only minutes to Liskard station although there is plenty of parking. It is close to several cycle routes and close to Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor.
Breakfast was good and in a nice calm room. There was a nice relaxing bar /lounge area. I really loved the house!
The owners are very helpful and friendly and obviously proud of their hotel.
Happy to recommend the hotel without any concerns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    29
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
260
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Enjoyed a lovely relaxing stay at Pencubitt last weekend. As others have said, the house is beautiful - my single room was spacious and comfortable, and the guest lounge was a great space with a lovely terrace overlooking the lawns. Breakfast was delicious, with the best poached eggs I've had in a long time. And the whole stay was made special by Pat and Julie's welcome. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our trip to England was completed with our stay at Pencubitt in July of 2014. It was everything we looked forward to on our journey to the homeland of our father. The rooms were exquisite, the location gorgeous and the people we met were absolutely wonderful. Pat and Julie are lovely hosts who make your stay perfect. The home cooked meals surpassed our expectations and were delicious. One could not ask for anything more than an evening at Pencubitt. We would certainly love to return and can just imagine the beauty of this bed and breakfast at Christmas.
It is absolutely "magical" and breathtaking!

Room Tip: The king room with the balcony was luxurious and absolutely beautiful with breathtaking views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 694ShelleyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet be close enough to explore the south west of the UK then this is the place to be.
Being set in its own grounds and away from any road or town noise will aid a great nights sleep.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.
The whole house is calming and relaxing, no need to rush when you're on holiday.
Pat and Carol are great hosts, and nothing is too much trouble, Pat cooks a mean breakfast so I hope you have a good appetite while Carol is a wonderful bubbly host, together they will have you laughing in no time.
I would definitely recommend staying here and hope to again in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Slider66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just cant stop thinking of our amazing stay at Pencubbit and when Rob and I can return, The house is beutifull all through, the breakfast perfect, our room was spotless with lovely views, and to top all Julie and Patrick are so welcoming and work really hard to make your stay a memorable one, we have stayed at many bed and breakfast but this is the best we have ever stayed, and thank you Julie and Patrick for helping me with my gluten free breakfast and extra jam and cream for my scone lol Jan and Rob x

Room Tip: Room 5 has lovely views over garden and hills very comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a wonderful stay a Pencubitt. Pat and Julie were very welcoming and helpful. Just sorry we were only there for a weekend. Cant fault it at all. Room very clean. It was so peaceful and lovely gardens. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A beautiful country house with exposed beams upstairs. Our room was fabulous with a roll top bath, superb furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The situation is very quiet but close to a dual carriageway, so convenient for visiting Cornwall. The owners are extremely pleasant. The public rooms downstairs are spacious and well furnished. We will certainly return on our next holiday in Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Property: Pencubitt House
Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing