We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House”
Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Pencubitt. When we saw great the reviews for the place we didn't hesitate to book a room here and our stay exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was amazing and the dinner here was spectacular (Michelin star quality). Do yourself a favour and make sure to eat here even if don't end up staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Abrar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Pencubitt House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

WE were made very welcome, the house is lovely, the place is spotless, and the food very good indeed. Highly recommended. The Liskeard - Looe railway is nearby, and the location is convenient for both coast and countryside / moors.

RJJ

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank rickjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel - when I stayed it was full. Huge lounge area to relax in a nice gardens to wander. Breakfast was definitely worth getting up for. Huge spread if cereals pastries and lots if fresh fruit followed by a Full Cornish breakfast with local ingredients. It got me through until the evening!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameshewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is a hidden gem what a lovely friendly place location ideal for touring cornwall beautiful old house that you are made to feel part off recommend the cream tea on the veranda on arrival.500 yards from railway that takes you directly into looe,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stivesbay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at Pencubitt and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Julie and Pat are wonderful hosts, friendly and obliging, and we loved their beautiful house. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. We enjoyed the attractive garden which was good for relaxing in after our walks on Bodmin Moor and in the Tamar Valley. The evening meals are to be highly recommended. The hotel is very quiet and within easy reach of the station and the centre of Liskeard. It is well placed to explore different parts of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Madeleine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived before 4pm and found the door locked and therefore had to return an hour later. I realise that is the leaflet it was mentioned that we should contact for an earlier arrival but when travelling a long distance this is not always possible. There were two other guests on the doorstep at the same time. However, we has a really nice stay and found our room very comfortable with lovely views over the countryside. The hosts were most obliging and the food excellent. It was disappointing that not more guests ate the evening meal because it was well worth doing so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view over the valley.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank squashtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked this in advance but somewhat impulsively so my husband and I could get away for a few days while our daughter was abroad with family. The house (can't see it as a hotel on account it felt like home from home) was amazing, wonderful gardens, as we arrived I could breathe out, like a weight had been lifted, walking through the door we were greeted by Pat, one of the owners and extremely friendly and helpful he was. The room, a top floor suite was beautiful, it is obvious a lot of care and attention has gone into every aspect of the guest experience. My only real concern is that as business owners Pat and Julie can stretch themselves a bit thin, they want to give the best customer service and do until most guests are at breakfast and some want to check out or they need (quite rightly) some time off, as this can mean a bit of a delay or a possible disappointment for dinner plans. The Sunday night we were there was our last and wanted to eat in, which they gracefully accommodated but had they had the night off, we would have been very disappointed, I do have to add that it is noted in the information it is best to book dinner in advance and there may be times this service is unavailable. I think this is a great shame as the food is unbelievably good and I would have not had one of the best meals of my life! The food is all locally sourced and chosen by the owners, a touch duly noted and appreciated. The only real hotel facility I would have liked would be to have a mini fridge in the room, to keep water and other drinks in. I have done them a great injustice leaving it a week before writing this review, highly recommend this place and a shout out to Pat and Julie......find someone you trust to take some of the weight off your shoulders!!

Room Tip: We were in room 8, a suite and it's beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Moreminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
873 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
18.6 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mevagissey
463 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing