We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, welcoming and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pencubitt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencubitt House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a great stay at Pencubitt, with hosts who went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and to cater for our needs. Beautiful house and surroundings, amazing food and lovely peaceful atmosphere. Be sure to book your evening meal in advance or you will probably miss out - Pat and Julie prepare and serve delicious meals, the best of our holiday, in fact! We were lucky that they were able to fit us in for dinner even though we had not booked in advance. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished and may be a good choice, but ours was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JulieJ37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    28
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
252
23
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

from the moment you turn up the drive and see the impressive house and gardens you are not disappointed. Its a large country house, yet seems intimate and friendly with old family photos and maps etc. We had rooom 9 overlooking the Cornish countryside and a very spacious, grand bathroom. We took up the offer of a yummy cream tea on arrival and consequently couldn't manage any dinner! That might have been a mistake as Patrick is obviously a really good chef as the breakfasts were superb all with local fresh produce. It is in a great location for touring Cornwall as both coasts are easily reachable and also there is a train line walkable distance away.
Would highly recommend it and Patrick and Julie were great hosts.

Room Tip: as far as i know all rooms had good views but if mobility is a problem you probably wouldn't wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

we chose to stay in Liskeard because it is so convenient for so many must-see places in Cornwall and nearby Devon - so pleased we stayed at Pencubitt Guest House (chosen thanks to TripAdvisor's reviews), it is a wonderful building, excellently run by Julie and Pat - Pat is an excellent chef too so the food adds even more quality to the experience - it is the kind of place where one feels like dressing for dinner but it is also so casual and relaxed that you don't have to, just relax, chill and enjoy your hosts' wonderful home - we shall definitely be back

Room Tip: our room, number 6, overlooked the wonderful Cornish countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lau66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Pencubitt. When we saw great the reviews for the place we didn't hesitate to book a room here and our stay exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was amazing and the dinner here was spectacular (Michelin star quality). Do yourself a favour and make sure to eat here even if don't end up staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Abrar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

WE were made very welcome, the house is lovely, the place is spotless, and the food very good indeed. Highly recommended. The Liskeard - Looe railway is nearby, and the location is convenient for both coast and countryside / moors.

RJJ

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank rickjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel - when I stayed it was full. Huge lounge area to relax in a nice gardens to wander. Breakfast was definitely worth getting up for. Huge spread if cereals pastries and lots if fresh fruit followed by a Full Cornish breakfast with local ingredients. It got me through until the evening!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameshewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is a hidden gem what a lovely friendly place location ideal for touring cornwall beautiful old house that you are made to feel part off recommend the cream tea on the veranda on arrival.500 yards from railway that takes you directly into looe,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank stivesbay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
6.3 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencubitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencubitt House

Property: Pencubitt House
Address: Lamellion Cross, Liskeard PL14 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencubitt House near Liskeard in Cornwall features nine comfortable en-suite rooms together with a relaxing guest lounge and licensed bar where you can read, check emails, or simply enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the garden views and the beautiful rolling countryside of the Looe Valley. Pencubitt really is an ideal location for exploring South East Cornwall and Devon. Whether that be the local fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, the harbour town of Fowey, The Eden Project or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and with Dartmoor, Plymouth, Bodmin Moor, Lanhydrock and a day trip to Padstow less than an hour away - the choice is yours! We serve a traditional and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day! We can also offer afternoon Cream Teas, picnics and take-away continental breakfast. Our aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay with us in our relaxing and comfortable character home. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to Pencubitt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pencubitt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pencubitt Country Hotel
Pencubitt House Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing