We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to dine”
Review of Eliot House Hotel

Eliot House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eliot House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Popped in for an evening meal at Eliot House Hotel. Welcoming staff, quick service and lovely atmosphere. They were doing an Italian Special Menu and was surprised to find no vegetarian mains on the offer (considering its Italian cuisine!). Had to settle for nachos and beans which were ok-ish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank V-na18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Found this hotel through tourist info centre in Liskeard. Highly recommend this hotel. Dereck the owner is wonderful along with Simon the chef who is very passionate about his food & rightly so. Had lovely meals including a divine Trifle (Thanks Simon) Also the bar staff are very friendly and efficient. Breakfasts great and rooms lovely. Had the honeymoon room for first 2 nights and is a large & airy room (if avail highly recommend).As we stayed 3 nights wre given a very reasonale rate. The help and info given to us about where & what to see was fantastic. Easy to take a train into Plymouth or further & a must see is the fishing village of Looe also by train. Highly recommend to stay here if in the area. Thanks again everyone. Loved our time there. Ray & Trudi

Room Tip: Try the honeymoon room if avail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stay in Liskeard frequently but irregularly and have tried many of the hotels. I like this the best. It is clean, has some character and the breakfast is great. The staff are welcoming and go out of their way to help with anything needed. My only (very minor) complaint is that the wifi does not reach all the bedrooms, necessitating going to the lounge or bar to log in but that's a small price to pay for an otherwise lovely place. Other hotels in the area charge for wifi after your free 30 mins....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome (right from my first eMail asking about booking), sparklingly clean room, and good food - what else is there to say?! We stayed for three nights, had full English breakfast (one of us being vegetarian) every morning and ate at the hotel on the Friday night - all meals were great. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. Just one note of caution, if you are on the large side, elderly or stiff (or all three!), do mention it when booking as any of these things would have made our very small shower-room/toilet very difficult to use, and I am sure they have differently configured rooms. Luckily we're are just the right side of the line in all three cases!
Would we stay again? A firm "Yes".
Would we recommend it? Undoubtedly,

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffandhubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Staying for a week in Liskeard we tried the Eliot Hotel for dinner when we arrived on Saturday night. Despite catering for a large wedding we enjoyed a delicious meal and good attentive service. Decided to finish our holiday by returning on Friday. We were advised to book an 8pm table as they had another function on. We were shown to our table but after 30 minutes had to go and look for a member of staff to enquire when our order might be taken. We received an apology but as further delay was inevitable we decided to leave.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have just had our son's wedding reception at the Eliot House and cannot praise them enough. The rooms for guests (and newly weds!) were lovely, the rooms available for the reception are perfect with a large light filled dining room as well as a good size bar and a great sitting room for those who needed a little respite! Food wise we had a carvery which was amazing value with a great selection of meat and vegetables, all of which were delicious and plentiful for over 100 guests. The team at the hotel were so friendly and attentive all day and beforehand they couldn't have been more helpful and generous with the preparations. Thank you Derek, Rose and the team for your friendliness and hard work , you were fantastic and helped make the day a wonderful occasion. We would certainly recommend this as a venue and will visit the restaurant ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stopped for two nights at this hotel during a wedding recently... It has been refurbished and our stay was very welcoming by all of the staff. It seemed nothing you asked for was a problem.. The rooms were clean with comfy beds nice white towels and breakfast was fabulous ... It was nice to see the owner around doing various tasks including helping with breakfast and he was always happy to have a friendly chat.. This hotel is well situated and great value for money...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liskeard hotels
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 2 in Menheniot
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elnor Guest House
Elnor Guest House
#4 of 15 in Liskeard
41 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wheal Tor
Wheal Tor
#3 of 5 in Pensilva
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot House Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Liskeard PL14 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Eliot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot House Hotel Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing