We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wish it was closer to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eliot House Hotel

Eliot House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eliot House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Liskeard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wish it was closer to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have stayed here but mainly dined only but generally I am to slow to praise but on this occasion would thoroughly recommend dinning the staff are extremely attentive and the owner enjoys ensuring that you are well looked after

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    25
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
31
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having been to the Liskeard fireworks display we ventured into town looking for somewhere to ear. It was our first time to Liskeard and we hadn't realised that the options were going to be so limited.

We found ourselves at the Elliot House hotel restaurant.

What an horrific meal we had. The service was extremely poor, which I was willing to let slide if the food was good. It wasn't. Infact it was pretty disgraceful.

I would like to go into every detail about the meal but quite frankly I haven't time. Our bill came to £124 between 6 of us and I have never felt so cheated in all my life. I will say this though... 5 of us had the burger and my burger came out 2/3 smaller than everybody elses. Perhaps I am bitter about this but truth be told the size was the beginning of this burgers problems. It tasted awful. Everyone Agreed.

I would advise anyone to stay well clear of this place. Then again there is nowhere else to eat.

Get a taxi somewhere else. It will be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

A 3 night family stay with our little one and it was excellent! Derrick the manager couldn't do enough for us and the house keeper too. Our room was basic but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable and we needed for nothing. Breakfast was lovely!! Everything fresh and what ever you wanted however you want it cooking, no problem. Hotel brilliantly placed for Looe which is a beautiful place to visit. Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandEmma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent two night here. The room had been refurbished, a little on the small size, but quite adequate. The breakfast was excellent, plenty and well cooked. Staff friendly. Would recommend. Thoroughly enjoyed the jazz concert and buffet meal. The food was tasty well cooked and different. Generally all to a high standard. The hotel was very busy.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived a bit early but offered a complimentary drink while we waited for the room to be ready. Unfortunately we weren't given the room as booked through LateRooms, but they managed to correct the error and the rest of the stay went smoothly. Freshly cooked breakfast available from 8, but took a while to come and we couldn't be ready to leave the hotel for our tours before 9.15. Liskeard is a good location if you have a car, and public transport links are adequate but it's a 15-20 minute walk to the station, and 5-10 minutes to the bus stop. Liskeard itself doesn't have much to entertain, and is especially quiet on Sundays (and the buses aren't frequent either). All in all a pleasant stay but I would prefer to stay in one of the more popular tourist destinations in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the main road side of the hotel in case of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We haven't stayed at the Eliot for many years. It had closed down and been shut for several years. We had seen it had been redecorated and need to stay for a night urgently. Due to nowhere else to stay we booked at the Eliot House. We were very impressed. well decorated, efficient staff who were very helpful. The room had been only recently refurbished. shower hot and powerful. excellent double glazing so noise at a real minimum, very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great with plenty and tasty. Overall and excellent experience and will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ok, so we never stayed at the hotel, but we were gutted we didn't. We just popped in for dinner and the food was out of this world, the service second to none, and the quality of the hotel itself appeared to be outstanding. The next time my wife and I need a hotel in the area, this place will be our first choice without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liskeard
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Cheesewring Hotel
The Cheesewring Hotel
#2 of 15 in Liskeard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot House Hotel

Property: Eliot House Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Liskeard PL14 3AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Liskeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliot House Hotel Liskeard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing