We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely ghastly - never again!!”

Wheal Tor Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 57 Restaurants in Liskeard
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely ghastly - never again!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the Tesco brand cola that the owner tried to pass off as diet coke to the view of a mini-digger in front of the conservatory, this visit was a complete disaster and I'd never recommend anyone visit. Comments from the group of friends I went with range from "the soup was so bad I would be ashamed to serve it" through to "the pudding was angel delight!" and none of us will darken the doors again. The bread with the soup was stale, some of the dishes were almost unidentifiable and the 'selection of desserts' were all in plastic shot style glasses! Oh, except for the rhubarb tart which was placed on the salad table and mistaken for a quiche!! Not good with coleslaw.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    6
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Evening”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Me and my partner visited the pub Monday evening 09/06/14, Service was good and the staff were friendly. Food was very good, will definatly visit again and recommend to friends & family. Overall was a nice evening. Many thanks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woody_uk901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, relaxed atmosphere, home cooked food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wheal Tor is an experience not to be missed. High on the moor up a lane with far more ponies and sheep than traffic, the view is spectacular, stretching as far as Dartmoor on a clear day.
Mark and Max are a great host and hostess and serve home cooked good quality food in the restaurant. We haven't seen the hotel accommodation or inside the camping pods, but it is unfailingly relaxing and friendly when we go for a meal.
Max is a really good cook and goes the extra mile if you want additions to your meal.
All in all a lovely place to visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha_RWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nope!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Sorry, but I won't be visiting here again. Not good. In summary- Food: meh... Wine: poor. Ambience: greasy. Service: Scary. Nice view though.

Helpful?
Thank wildmercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty! advise from a Local”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I live near Wheal Tor, this used to be a lovely pub, then got taken over a an owner who has no people skills whatsoever, He lets his fowl roam free and they do their business on the eating tables outside, if you get what I mean. Went there a few months ago to never return again, i had the steak pie which was basically left over beef from the sunday lunch with a pastry top, not much effort there and the meat was tough and dry. So disappointed this used to be and could be a great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheal Tor Restaurant also viewed

 
Liskeard, Cornwall
 
Liskeard, Cornwall
 

Been to Wheal Tor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing