We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a stay at Ballaminers House”
Review of Ballaminers House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Petherick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballaminers House
rye, East Sussex
1 review
“A gem of a stay at Ballaminers House”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My partner and I treated ourselves ourselves to a lovely mini break over the Easter period. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely owner who gave us a delicious complimentary cream team, which we enjoyed eating in the garden. Amanda, the owner, even offered us seconds!! what a treat!!
We loved staying here because of the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We also just loved the way our bedroom was decorated and we had ever such a comfy mattress. We also enjoyed our tea making facilities in the bedroom. Although we did not have a bathroom en suite, we did full use of our own private bathroom next door to our bedroom. We hope we can return next Easter.
Sue and Derek Wilson, Rye, East Sussex

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

As previous reviews have state the old fashioned B&B rules do not sit comfortably with prices charged and no tea and coffee in the room 'as guests make so much mess'. I was also asked not to have a bath late and a shower early as it was disturbing to other guests, there were not any at the time and I had been awoken by their dogs coming upstairs early in the morning. Amanda eavesdropped on a light hearted converation we were having with guests from the self-catering unit who had joined us for breakfast when they asked what it was like staying in the house. When we returned later that evening she said I had no right to talk to them about the shortcomings of the B&B, which had been about twin beds with no bedside tables or lamps, no headboards and a large wardrobe placed next to the bed, partially blocking the window. Most unfrienldy and unwelcoming and poor quality breakfasts considering the charges.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivienneSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandafearon, Owner at Ballaminers House, responded to this review, 19 August 2015
We are sorry that this guest was not happy with the accommodation or her stay with us.

However we felt that wherever this guest had stayed she would have been inclined to find fault.

The guests had a somewhat loud and forthright manner which was highlighted at breakfast one morning............

We were very surprised to hear this lady talking quite openly at the top of her voice to the other guests sitting at the breakfast table one morning about her views of the property and us!

Unknown to the guest who posted this review one of the couples present during her conversation had stayed with us before and clearly had enjoyed their stay enough to return . After they had finished breakfast this lovely couple came into the kitchen where we were to say how sorry they were that anyone should voice their views in such a manner and that they could not disagree more with what this guest had said . As anyone can imagine these words were good to hear.

Amanda Fearon Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The guesthouse is lovely and beautifully decorated, beds comfortable and bathrooms great. However just a quick note regarding the owner, we travelled from Exeter airport and telephoned ahead of time to advise that we would be arriving around 7-7.30pm we were greeted by Amanda who very rudely informed us that the time of arrival should have been earlier, even though we had pre warned her. We werent aware that we only had an hour window to arrive!
We were then given the rules of the house and like the previous comments were left very confused that we were locked out of the house even though it is a bed and breakfast, we soon realised that this wasnt the place for us, so after breakfast we packed up and decided to find somewhere else to stay, on leaving Amanda again very rudely informed us that we had to pay for the next night as we had mentioned that we may stay for 2 nights, we had paid for the first night ahead of time anyway!
We were then told by Amanda that she didnt want 'our sort of people staying there and that we should get out' extremely insulted to be spoken to like that we quickly left! So if you do decide to stay here make sure you are the 'right' sort of person to stay there - we were on our honeymoon and doing a tour of the British Iles before going back to our catered chalet business in France, so not sure what sort of person she is looking for!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlouhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandafearon, Owner at Ballaminers House, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
The guests who left this posting did indeed inform me of their estimated arrival time. Unfortunately I had an important evening commitment which I was unable to attend because the guests arrived over an hour later than originally arranged. On reflection perhaps the guests were uncomfortable in a house which has interesting pictures, antiques and family heirlooms and would have been more suited to a hotel rather than a private home.
We are sorry that they did not enjoy their stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Ballaminers House and the seperate self catering accomodation across the courtyard in Stable Cottage. It was a perfect arrangment for our extended party. We all had a very restful and peaceful break and the accomodation was just as described. Ballaminers House is a real home and we were treated warmly by Amanda.
Unfortunately, I came down with a virus the night before we were due to leave. I was in the self catering cottage in a shared bedroom. Amanda rang the hospital and I was treated there. On my return I still felt quite poorly and as there was a spare room in the house available for one night, Amanda made up the room for me at no extra charge and I was so relieved to fall into the clean sheets and have a restful sleep. This is the sort of service that you could not expect from a larger hotel and we were very grateful that we were in a caring environment under the circumstances.
We will definitely be returning in the future and loved Padstow and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We booked this B and b for a relaxing weekend on arrival we found that we were actually in the owners main residence, even thiugh on the website it stated this was not suitable for babies or toddlers we were informed the owners daughter and 5 month old grandson were in the next room to us, Although the baby did not wake till 6 in the morning it was never the less not to our liking,
We were also told we had to be out of the house before 10.30am and could not retirn until 4.30pm, we were also told we could not have a key and if we arrived home after a night out after 10.30 we had to advise them. At £90.00 per room per night this was not what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandafearon, Owner at Ballaminers House, responded to this review, 11 July 2009
Having read this review with a very unkind and potentially damageing title I 'm left feeling very upset indeed and confused to the point that I feel a reply clarifying the critisims is necessary. The guests ( I do not know who they are) who wrote this review decided to choose to stay at a ' Private Home' on a bed and breakfast basis. We are a private house from which we offer bed and breakfast accommodation we don't pretend to be anything else. Firstly, I don't understand the reason the guests were surprised to find that their accommodation would be in Ballaminers House itself as the booking confirmation/ telephone conversation sent / voiced to this couple confirmed that they would be staying in the house in a double / twin bedroom with private bathroom. Secondly if the guests felt the need to use the property during the day and wanted a 24 hour lobby service then perhaps a hotel would have suited their requirements better. Bed and Breakfast accommodation is exactly what it says and does not pretend to be a hotel. Like many owners we do have other daily committments and this is clearly stated on our web site informing guests that with respect we ask them to vacate the house by 10.30am during their stay and the door is open again at 4.30pm. With regards to not being given keys our insurance policy strictly states that keys cannot be given to guests and therefore we naturally have to abide by this. There are no hard and fast rules regarding returning to the house after a night out indeed we like guests to enjoy themselves after all they're on holiday! What we do say is that if guests think they may return later than 10.30pm in the evening then would they please lock up for the night which we feel is a perfectly reasonable request.I did not know that it was a crime to have my daughter and grandson to stay!! It would have been much appreciated if the guests had had a chat with us and then hopefully the various points on their posting could have been sorted out. Thankfully we have many returning guests to Ballaminers House , many lovely messages of thanks and little presents which are all greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

A beautiful gueshouse a few miles from Padstow in the village of Little Petherick. Charming rooms with all finishing touches. Excellent breakfast. Perfect for a quiet escape. Car essential.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Petherick
1.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
9.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballaminers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaminers House

Property: Ballaminers House
Address: | Nr Padstow, Cornwall, Little Petherick, Padstow PL27 7QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Little Petherick
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Petherick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballaminers House is a very pretty example of a former Cornish farmhouse with large garden dating from the mid 18th Century.The property which sleeps up to 8 guests is tucked away up a leafy lane in the picturesque village of Little Petherick situated only two and a half miles south of Padstow. Within easy reach of 8 glorious beaches. Stable and Dairy Cottages are sympathetic conversions of two former farm barns which sit comfortably across the former farmyard. Each cottage sleeps up to 4 guests. Stable Cottage has it's own secure private patio garden.We have a very large field and a private cottage car park .Wi Fi access in all three properties. All properties are child and dog friendly and available for rental on a self catering basis . We do not charge a fee for dogs to come and stay and hope this is considered a bonus as we know the advantages of being able to bring your dog on holiday with you without incurring additional costs. We do have a doggy code which guests are politely requested to comply with please . This can be viewed on each of the properties official web sites. Please make sure our code suits your daily routine . We very much look forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballaminers House Little Petherick, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing