We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A suprising little treasure”
other traveller has booked this property
School Cottage used to be the village chapel and school before being made into two cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
School Cottage used to be the village chapel and school before being made into two cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
School Cottage used to be the village chapel and school before being made into two cottages
Patio
Grassed parking area
Shower room
Original front door to School Cottage, now an internal door
Double bedroom
Double bedroom with views over fields at back
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Aproach from carpark
Patio
Patio
Secret spot near by
Cellars at high tide, just at the end of Harlyn Bay
Trevon Bay
Constantine Bay
Constantine Bay from dunes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Little Petherick, Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage is what I would call rustic, it could benefit from a bit of a face lift. The furnishings were a bit tired, the crockery was mostly chipped and needed a wash before we could use it. In the garden the furniture was not very inviting and had the weather been nicer we would not have been very comfortable sitting there. The off road parking was great and the owners communication with us was excellent. We were a bit disappointed that the house was right on a main road as this was not obvious from the photos, but it was in a good position for visiting nearby Padstow. The new wet room was lovely although the grout could benefit from a good clean. The small second sitting room would have made an excellent en-suite bedroom and would save you from having to go downstairs to bathroom. This is the only house we have stayed in that didn't provide towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dirty dishes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you for the great feed back, all chipped crockery, has been replaced, sorry there must have been and enthusiastic washer upper in the cottage the week before you! Also thank you for your kind comment about the wet room (grout now sparkling again) and the good communication with the owner. The first picture of the property on the web site shows the road, it is a B road, but will ensure this mentioned in write up of the cottage, thanks again useful feed back. Will look forward to welcoming you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A suprising little treasure”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We walked in and went whow! School Cottage is really cosy, it's warm and friendly, great little room off the main area for the children to snug up and watch dvd's and TV. the beds are comfortable and the wet room shower was very popular. It's a few mins drive to Tesco's in Padstow and about 15 min drive to Wadebridge. found lots of good beaches near by, our kids loved Harlyn and Trevone the best. We found a great footpath behind the church which came out just below the cottage down to the bottom of Little Petherick where we could eat at the Old Mill Bistro which was lovely and great not to have to drive. Parking was easy, with a large pull in area. The owner was very good on the communication before we went and gave good comprehensive instructions, was keen to know we were happy with everything when we arrived. Rained a lot but then its Cornwall!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cosy
Liked least: upstairs toilet would be good
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick M
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage to have a holiday in.”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very enjoyable stay in a comfortable, well equipped, characterful cottage - not a uPVC window in sight! Off street parking great. Table and chairs outside in little sun trap. Handy having two bathrooms. Thumbs up! Thanks George.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“School cottage Little Petherick near Padstow .... First Class All the Way !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are a couple or a small family looking for a perfect cottage in the Padstow area. Then School Cottage is First Class in a perfect location.All the facilities and the cottage in general is excellent,great communication from the owner from booking to arrival,very professional.
We had a wonderful family holiday and really felt at home at School Cottage

Thankyou

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing