We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful!”
Review of The Old Chapel B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Chapel B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

For those looking for a special break showing the best that Cornwall has to offer then look no further! Michael and Babs Fleet are such a lovely, warm and welcoming couple that make a stay at the Old Chapel all the more special. The package they offer for a 3 night stay including a guided tour of the Eden project is a must if you've never been before! I cannot recommend it highly enough. David, the tour guide, is just as warm, friendly and entertaining and his knowledge is second to none. I would strongly urge anyone to include the Lost Gardens of Heligan tour as well. The food at the Chapel is cooked to a very high standard with the 'Trencherman's Breakfast' setting you up for the rest of the day! Other places to eat as recommended by Michael are the 'Earl of Chatham' and the 'Trewithern' in the village. You simply must pay a visit!!! Stephen and Michelle Black

Room Tip: All th erooms are to a very high standard but I chose the sumptuous victorian room 2 with its 4 post...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
72
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights whilst in Cornwall for a friend's wedding.

We received a very warm welcome and the room was very well equipped, decorated to a very high standard and very comfortable.

We had everything we needed and the breakfasts in particular were a very high standard.

Very good value for money and we would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdfarmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

A weekend break couldn't have been more perfect through the comfort and welcoming feel this B&B had to offer. Amazing bed made for one of the best night's sleep after a long day exploring Cornwalls greatest sights. Babs and Micheal were the perfect hosts and the care and attention they gave to making your stay memorable only adds to the luxury and comfort The Old Chapel has to offer.

Clean, warm and welcoming, we would definitely recommend to anyone considering this accommodation and we look forward to staying there again in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happnsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2010

As others have reviewed, The Old Chapel is a real hidden gem; with Babs and Michael being your perfect hosts. They are lovely people who love what they do and its really shows through.

The rooms are beautiful and so very clean. No detail is missed and the quality is truly 5 Star Hotel.

Michael out-did himself during world cup 2010 with an international breakfast option, changing daily depending upon which nation was playing. Truly Inspired hospitality, again, coming from the heart.

This Bed & Breakfast is well worth your visit and is total value for money.

I would also highly recommend taking the Eden Project tour & Lost Garden of Heligan tour with David. He too loves what he does and it shines through. Book through Michael.

We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocktastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed for 6 nights,the rooms were nice and cosy and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast cooked by Michael were excellent,something for everyone,and enough to set you up for the day.
It is situated in the country,about 10 mins drive to Lostwithiel where there are decent eateries.
We did Eden With Dave the guide,well worth it.
Best of all were the great proprietors Babs & Michael,so obliging and friendly.
We will definitely recommend the old Chapel and certainly return

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brummie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We have just returned from a trip to Cornwall and stayed here on a 3 night "Eden Break". We had an excellent time.

Michael and Babs the owners of the Old Chapel are great hosts and made us feel extremely welcome.

The rooms are lovely and cosy, clean and have all the luxuries that you could ever need. There are lots of personal touches such as being greeted with a fresh pot of tea and biscuits on arrival. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

One of the reasons we originally chose this B&B was because they included a guided tour to The Eden Project. We found the trip very informative and interesting especially with not being keen gardeners. The guide David added a very personal touch to the trip.

Michael's breakfasts are a real treat and we would certainly go back. We would recommend the Old Chapel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfieEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We have visited the old chapel 4-5 times over the last 3 years,for long stays and a couple of weekends.We drove over 250 miles to spend a romantic weekend for our first ever visit,and have never looked back,mainly due to our hosts Bab's and Micheal,and not to forget Micheal's famous breakfast,and hope this is also an opportunity to thank them for their hospitality and their friendship.....Craig/Claire Aldershot/Hants

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
481 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
196 reviews
7.1 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
595 reviews
3.9 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
277 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 13 in Lostwithiel
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Chapel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel B&B

Property: The Old Chapel B&B
Address: West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Chapel B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Chapel offers superior bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of beautiful Cornwall. Featuring four spacious rooms decorated to a very high standard in a fresh modern style, each with an individual colour scheme. Each room is suitably equipped with all of the amenities you would expect from a high quality bed and breakfast. We are centrally located in Cornwall making it just as easy to reach both the south and north coasts of this stunningly beautiful county. We have plenty of off-road parking and the fantastic Eden Project is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Chapel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Chapel B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing