We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Chapel B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Chapel B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great ( 5 -star hotel standard ) B&B with terrific breakfasts(huge choice) and extremely hospitable hosts ( and knowledgeable about the local area), near to Lostwithiel, Cornwall. Well situated for Eden project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, lovely Cornish villages.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the The Old Chapel for three nights and it was brilliant. Michael and Babs could not do enough for you and the breakfasts are out of this world with a very big choice on the menu. If you need a guide then David is your man and Michael and Babs will help you get in touch with him. Thanks to Michael and Babs for a lovely three days and David for being our guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmlfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a short break at this lovely b&b. I made a mistake with the booking but Michael couldn't have been more gracious. We only stayed for 1 night after all but we were made very welcome. We had a four poster bed which was very comfortable and the breakfasts are lovely with local and home made produce.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for a 4 night break to celebrate my wifes birthdaye, we were both very happy indeed with our choice. Michael and Babs are a lovely couple; friendly, informative, helpful and they made our stay an absolute pleasure.

The B&B itself is beautifully appointed - more like a small hotel in terms of the standards, both in terms of quality and cleanliness, and Michael's breakfasts should by now be legendary if they aren't already - superb.

First class - a real find for us both and somewhere we will surely return to. We cannot recommend this B&B and the owners highly enough. All we can say is "Go . . . . ."

Micheal also arranged a trip to the Eden Project for us with David Hogg of Castle Tours and again this was beyond our expections and all we can say again is if you want to visit Cornwall or the Eden Project - stay at this B & B and use David Hogg both are superb. Best wishes to Tabbitha the old cat - we loved her.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berlingoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

warm welcome for us from Michael and Babs. We were well looked after trips to Eden and Heligan were arranged. We had a wonderful time comfortable beds and warm showers in a cold and windy May were just what we needed thanks again. Big breakfast and snacks too super chips even made us a packed lunch.

Room Tip: you need a car for this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Babs and Michael pay great attention to detail, and our rooms were comfortable and superbly appointed. The Eden Break was excellent, well-organised and with an amusing, intelligent and interesting guide. As for Michael’s breakfasts…….! C & H, Dorset

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cms7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent three fantastic nights here, from 27th to 29thOct. 2012 inclusive. I would class Joyce and I as seasoned World Travellers, who have spent very little time in B&B's in the UK or anywhere else. Our normal holidays are in 5* luxury hotels. Well let me tell you, this B&B was a 5* base from which we travelled to interesting places in Cornwall.
Michael and Babs were our hosts and could not do enough for us and as for the breakfasts - go and see the menu. WOW.
Our room was spacious with all mod cons and a four poster bed with a real comfortable mattress.

The price included a visit to The Eden Project. We were collected by David our guide and treated to a personal tour of the whole site, including areas not seen by visitors. After four hours he whisked us back to West Taphouse. We were treated like Royalty all round. Thanks Babs and Michael. See you again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Cormorant Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.9 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
6.6 mi away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Chapel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel B&B

Property: The Old Chapel B&B
Address: West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Chapel B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Chapel offers superior bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of beautiful Cornwall. Featuring four spacious rooms decorated to a very high standard in a fresh modern style, each with an individual colour scheme. Each room is suitably equipped with all of the amenities you would expect from a high quality bed and breakfast. We are centrally located in Cornwall making it just as easy to reach both the south and north coasts of this stunningly beautiful county. We have plenty of off-road parking and the fantastic Eden Project is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Chapel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Chapel B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing