We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in an idyllic setting.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
irenechad...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in an idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

You would never guess how big this holiday accommodation is from just looking at the outside picture. Large entrance hall, well equipped kitchen, cloakroom w.c. and lounge leading to a patio garden enjoying a lovely view right on the river bank. The four bedrooms are over two floors with an en-suite shower room and a further family bathroom all tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. The accommodation is ideally situated for those who love messing about in canoes or children enjoying just dipping their toes in the water. We loved watching the local children with their wetsuits having a great time. They enter the water just by the medieval bridge where there is a sandy area and picnic tables to sit and enjoy the fun. Lostwithiel is a pretty area with antique shops, a local co-op store which seems to have everything including a cash machine then there are numerous places to eat. We enjoyed a few meals at the local pub named The Globe. There is a wonderful National Trust house very near by named Lanhydrock which is a must to view when staying at this lovely property. We booked through Sykes cottages who were very professional. We hope to be back to enjoy this property and area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob T
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Character filled holiday let in pretty location”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The setting of 16 Brunel Quays was quite special, accommodation in a refurbished apartment in a Brunel designed railway carriageworks, the River Fowey flowing gently past the back door and a medieval stone-arched bridge (scheduled ancient monument) to stroll across to enjoy the “antiques capital of Cornwall”, Lostwithiel. The accommodation itself was spotlessly clean and modern, the beds comfortable and the showers hot and strong. Cooking facilities were very good and a washing machine with drying cycle took care of laundry. The large dining/lounge area with its garden setting overlooking the Fowey was well utilised. Secure off road parking for two cars was another positive.
On the slightly negative side, the Wifi internet was relatively slow and variable and the Lostwithiel Rail Station runs parallel to Brunel Quays. With windows closed the noise of the occasional train is of no consequence, but with the Velux windows slightly ajar in the bedrooms you won’t need an alarm clock when the 6:00 am train rolls in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the idyllic setting
Liked least: slow wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
It sounds like you had a wonderful break at 16 Brunel Quays, thank you for taking the time to tell us about this special place. The riverside setting sounds particularly lovely, and being able to walk into Lostwithiel, especially convenient! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrystal...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very well presented spacious house. High state of cleanliness. Fluffy white towels. If I'd known it was so near Lostwithiel station I'd have traveled there by train direct from London, so convenient. (There were some railway works going on at night which was a little disturbing to the general peace of the place, but that was not the owners fault.) The town is so nearby it's a 5 min walk if that, and there are plenty of shops, cafe's, pubs around.
Central for most of the local attractions in surrounding areas. Had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Rail works at night.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie W
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We thought we were taking a risk by not staying near the coast but we are so glad we did. This house is an amazing place to stay with everything you could need. The photos just don't do it justice. I tried to take photos to show friends and family how lovely it is but couldn't quite get the feel of the place. It was the perfect place to stay. Maggie met us at the property and showed us how things work. We also had tea, coffee, milk and biscuits left for us. Lostwithiel is a lovely place to stay with some nice places to eat. I would recommend the fish and chips. Lostwithiel is ideally situated for exploring Cornwall. You have to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building the property is in is amazing. Ground floor windows and doors are huge.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Chepstow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely house”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This house is really well laid out, and plenty of room for 7 adults.
The kitchen is well equipped and really clean.
The only downside was that there weren't enough comfy seats in the living area, one of us had to sit on a dining chair.
We got a murder/treasure hunt on-line and it was not too long and got you to tour around Lostwithiel.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annel850
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality holiday home for the family”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Overall quality is very good excellent place to stay everything is there in the kitchen from washing machine, dishwasher, iron to all your utensils. Wifi is included as well. trains kept my son happy however they are not true intrusive. We stayed here as a family of 7 which included my parents and children the place is suprisingly big and spacious pictures do not do it justice. My only small gripe would be that it would be good to have a tv in one if the bedrooms as when you have a family this big not everyone wants to watch the same programs especially the children and teens but had a fantastic stay and would definatley recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucindaSt...
Staffs
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“I don't want to go home!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I'm writing this review on our second day at this fabulous property and I can't praise it enough, it deserves 6 stars. The photos don't show how lovely it is we were met by the owner who gave us comprehensive instructions, and left us tea, milk & biscuits. The property is huge and very comfortably furnished with everything you'd need. There is a lovely area to sit out overlooking the river and although you hear the trains pass it's not intrusive. A short walk takes you into the town which has some nice shops and eateries. Another excellent rental from Sykes, we're never disappointed with their properties. I'm looking forward to the rest of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing