We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cross Close House B&B
Ranked #8 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Val and Alex were really welcoming. The room was restful and had everything we needed - home from home! The breakfast menu was wide ranging and food was beautifully cooked. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

Room Tip: The double room had a lovely extra big bed - so comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

We chose the Cross Close Guest House (www.crossclosehouse.co.uk) because of two things:

- firstly because it is well-located centrally to several attractions, eg the Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, Padstow, Looe & Polperro - all within around 30 minutes reach by car

- secondly because of the good recommendations that we read on TripAdvisor

We travelled down from Lancashire and came into West Taphouse along the A390 from Plymouth direction; as soon as we passed the West Taphouse sign, we found the Cross Close Guest House on the right hand side of the road to the left of the converted chapel.

There was a very warm welcome awaiting us from the owners, Val and Alex, supplemented by scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, and a cuppa!

We entered the house into a large lounge and were pleasantly surprised when Val told us that this was the guest lounge; it had a large comfy settee, a flat-screen TV, a well-stocked bookcase, magazines, and a table full of information and leaflets on local attractions. The large guest dining room was joined onto this lounge and was very spacious and homely.

Our double bedroom had all the conveniences that we needed - hot chocolate / different sorts of tea / coffee making facilities & chunky biscuits, a full length mirror (very few places have this - much to my annoyance), flat screen TV, hair dryer, alarm clock, quality linen, wine glasses and corkscrew (great!), and bedside lamps that were bright enough to read by! The ensuite had shower and loo, and complimentary toiletries. Val and Alex had really gone the extra mile in paying attention to detail. Iron and ironing board were available on request.

Breakfast the next morning was selected from a very long list of available items, including Val's home-made marmalades (try the lemon marmalade - delicious!). We were able to get our breakfast 'custom built' - ie the bacon 'crispy' and our poached eggs (from their own free-range hens) with 'runny yolks' - just like we have them at home (we are not fussy, it's just how we prefer them and it's great to get food cooked just as you like it, eh?).

We had a great stay with Val and Alex (we felt we were staying with friends rather than visitors to a guest house), and nothing was too much trouble for them - they were very helpful, and their attention to detail and their assistance in directing us to local attractions was very much appreciated; we sincerely intend to return to Cross Close Guest House the next time we visit Cornwall - it will be our first port of call.

We can only compare this guest house with the many other guest houses we have stayed in throughout the UK, and it stands out above the rest. We thoroughly recommend this guest house - it fully deserves the four crowns that it has been awarded - and if you stay there we don't think you'll be disappointed. Mel & Gwen (Leigh, Lancs).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. The room was cosy and comfortable and incredibly clean. The breakfast was excellent - huge and locally sourced with yummy eggs from the hens in the garden. Our hosts were lovely, helpful and friendly - we really felt at home. We continued our journey feeling well-rested and content.

Would definitely recommend it for exploring the area around Lostwithiel
Oh, and make sure you buy some free range eggs to take home! Delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Val and Alex were really kind hosts and cooked up an excellent breakfast with eggs from their very own hens. Our room had a large comfortable bed with decent ensuite shower and TV. However, the house could have been a bit warmer and the rumble of passing traffic wasn't exactly conducive to rest.

Cross Close House and its next door neighbour, The Old Chapel, are on the A390 four miles north-east of Lostwithiel. The location has few advantages, but this B&B is good value, particularly for three-night stays. So at the end of the day, it's a trade-off between price and location.

Our favourite dinner choices in the area were The Ship at Lerryn, The Chapel an Gansblydhen in Bodmin and the Earl of Chatham in Lostwithiel. All are reasonably priced. We can also recommend visits to Lanhydrock Estate and the Eden Project (get there early!), the coast walk from Polkerris Beach round Gribbin Head to Fowey returning via the Saints Way... and for something a bit different, try hiring a canoe from Encounter Cornwall based at Lerryn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Cross Close B and B.
I am very sorry you found the house wasn't quite warm enough - we would have addressed the problem immediately if we had known. All the radiators have thermostats , and in the event that the heating wasn't on we would have remedied that in an instant. Your comfort is our main concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldnt complain about anything.
The hosts where partically friendly & very imformative, i could not fault anything.

The rooms where spotless,comfortable beds and excellent on suite.
We opted for the full english breakfast which was lovely and the service was brilliant.

Deffinatly good value for money & i would recommened this to everyone.
Would stay again if i was ever in this area.

Tom.

Room Tip: n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasjackson187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I have stayed at this B&B several times and will be sure to stay again. The owners are very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The room was en-suite and various options were given for breakfast including a full English breakfast which I opted for. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
123 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
541 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#4 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#9 of 13 in Lostwithiel
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Close House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Close House B&B

Address: West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Close House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly and clean B and B with a guest lounge and garden - well situated to visit all the delights of Cornwall. Delicious full English breakfasts and cream teas. Off road parking and a room for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Cross Close House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Close House B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing