We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must to visit again and again and again......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe

Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must to visit again and again and again......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We took the scenic route to The Duchy Garden Centre and walked from Lostwithiel via Restormel Castle. The location is stunning and every element of the Garden Centre is immaculate and well thought out. The "green" credentials are as expected, with even the chairs made from recycled materials! The shop is full of interesting gifts and the plant centre has some unusual specimens. The lunch menu has many interesting and delicious options ranging from snacks to main meals. I choose the mackerel open sandwich with a horseradish cream and my husband had the venison burger. Both dishes were outstanding in presentation and taste. This place has an excellent chef and team who are obviously passionate about food.We shared a bottle of red wine and had a lemon and pistachio cake for pudding. Absolutely everything about this lunch was perfect! The setting, the service, the food and all reasonably priced. We will return many times..........

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MooLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    91
    28
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visit the duchy nursery every time we are in the area and it never fails to impress. Good quality food and service every visit. Excellent value in a beautiful location. The go to lunch destination whatever the weather. I appreciated the seamless way they met the needs of a wheelchair user and the baby in buggy. Top class.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a beautiful view ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Duchy of Cornwall cafe serves freshly prepared, generous portioned food made where possible from local ingredients. This cafe is part of their plant nursery and is a little off the beaten track in Duchy woodland with a spectacular view across to Restormel castle. We had two lovely meals there. It's also great for breakfast. Good coffee, friendly attentive waitresses : perfect place.

Helpful?
3 Thank yes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A hidden gem in lostwithiel food was excellent and a very reasonable price.Worth a visit if you are in the area.A great view and a great menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food, well priced, lovely staff, pretty location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We visited for lunch after a nice mooch around Lostwithiel. Lovely sunny outside table. Nice service at the table. I had venison burger on foccachia roll with sweet potato wedges ... yummy. (£8.95) My friend had risotto rissoles in tomato sauce ... so tasty, (£6.95) we shared so had a nice combination. Great value for delicious home cooked food. Better than we expected, will definitely return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dodders007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing