We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good food”

Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bodmin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location good food”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

As a 'local' have been here a few times. Location wonderful with views across the valley to Restormel Castle. Food very nice indeed with friendly service. Good value with the added advantage of being adjacent to a first class nursery.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceT633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    101
    37
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An excellent bacon sandwich!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What a great place for lunch, I had one of the best ever bacon sandwiches! Friendly helpful staff and pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Every man who is married gets to visit a Garden Centre or Nursery.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Sooner, or later, when living in Cornwall, one feels that they should contribute to the 'Duchy' in one way or another. We did by visiting their Nursery which is not too far from Lostwithiel and well signed. After all, Charles would never miss an opportunity to get you to part with your money especially in one he has an interest in. That said, please visit. It is so close to the Eden Project that you could risk tagging it on but I fear that once you visit you may find that you could do with longer time. Location is good, parking is good, food is good, and if you are interested in plants and such then that is good also. In visiting, you are playing your part in keeping our future King solvent. Is that such a bad thing?. Answers please to Sheryll Murray. MP for South East Cornwall, as I know she has a sense of humour. However, If I am wrong, then when visiting me in the Tower, please bring tuna and mayo brown bread sarnies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple but tasty”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lunch at the cafe where I decided to have the light leek, potato and cannelini bean stew, very tasty, great portion and good portion of garlic bread to go with it. My husband had a baguette of mozzarella with roasted vegetables again very nice. Well done. Very reasonable too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKHBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An excellent environment with delicious food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was my first visit. The restaurant is very attractive and constructed of high quality local materials. For those who like to eat outside there is a lovely view of Restormel Castle.
The menu was exciting and imaginative. I tried the Arancini. I didn't expect to find this Sicilian dish
here. It was the first time I've tasted it and it was delicious, even when eaten here in Cornwall.
The cakes and deserts looked extremely tempting, so I had to try one. The pear and frangipani flan with ginger ice cream was exquisite. We liked the table service, which was very efficient.
I would like to come here again and to try some of the other things on the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelytoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing