We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B with wonderful hosts”
Review of Hazelmere House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelmere House
Ranked #3 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed two nights at Hazelmere recently during a short-notice visit to Cornwall.

Richard and Sheila are wonderful hosts and simply could not have been more welcoming - providing a wonderful breakfast on both mornings (my brother-in-law had the free range eggs laid in their garden by Richard and Sheila's chickens!) and just generally making sure we were ok without fussing overly.

Hazelmere House is wonderfully situated at the top of a hill on one side of Lostwithiel, with stunning views of the Cornish countryside from both the bedrooms we saw. And speaking of the rooms...they are very comfortably appointed and spacious, with hot, powerful showers. The decor is classy, modern without being sparse, traditional without being chintzy, and the room was warm despite some very cold weather.

All in all I'd recommend Hazelmere House for visitors to Cornwall at any time of year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Hazelmere House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just saw the sign for B&B at the side of the road and popped in. We were given a very warm welcome and shown around the rooms. Really outstanding accommodation with lots of very nice touches. Really top notch with good size shower.
Initially were looking for one night but soon decided to stay for the rest of our holiday.
Real attention to detail and nothing was too much trouble (even dried out the covers from our classic sports car for us).
Great views over the countryside, and from our bedroom could also see the chickens in the paddock laying the eggs for our breakfasts.
Food to die for, some home grown. Wide range of good quality perfectly cooked for breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hazelmere House is a high standard and well appointed b & b. Richard and Sheila are very welcoming hosts, their attention to detail is first class and is reflected in top quality furniture, fittings and bedding. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the summer house which was bathed in sunshine, the gardens and views were beautiful. Breakfast each day was excellent with home grown produce being used. We have no hesitation in recommending this b & b as you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

40GBP is what we paid PP PN but it was worth it. A truely wonderful outlook in a wonderful old House in beautiful grounds it is so easy to see that these hosts are proud of where they live and work. That they are willing to open their home to complete strangers is wonderful and I thank them for the chance to experience this place . They were helpful in telling us we to eat ( the fact that we misheard was our upset not theirs but still an enjoyable time was spent there. , Very knowledgeable hosts and they rooms were top class. We thank you. Anne & Clive from New-Zealand

Room Tip: Take a chance and look at the outside of any place before you book, if it looks well kept then you c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi in T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

If you are looking for a B&B in the heart of Cornwall look no further than Halzelmere House, Lostwithiel. The welcome and hospitality you will get from Sheila & Richard Hanson from arrival to departure is 1st class. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and well appointed and the grounds and views surrounding the B&B are picturesque. Start each day off right with one of their fabulous breakfasts, including free range eggs from their own chickens and fruit from their own garden. Hazelmere House is in easy reach of most attractions and beaches in this part of the country. Sheila and Richard are fabulous hosts and went out of thier way to make our hoilday an enjoyable one. We would highly recommend you try this B&B you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in Hazelmere House for one night during my cycling tour of Cornwall in June 2012. This is an excellent B&B, run by a very nice and helpful couple, Sheila and Richard. Since they both previously worked in hotel business, they quality of service is really high up to the standards of 4* hotels. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Mehrdad Dianati

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mehrdad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The couple running this B&B were the perfect hosts. They could not have been more kind or helpful and went quite out of their way to make our visit an enjoyable one. The room itself was immaculately clean and extremely comfortable, and had a lovely view from the window. The breakfast was fantastic they made extra effort to ensure that my wife's gluten-free needs were accommodated. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#5 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
280 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tremont Bed & Breakfast
Tremont Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Lostwithiel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelmere House

Address: 58 Grenville Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelmere House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Fowey Valley with rural views overlooking the Historic town of Lostwithiel, Hazelmere House offers exceptional bed and breakfast in Cornwall.Centrally situated and close to the Eden Project, Heligan Gardens and many National Trust properties, come and join us for a comfortable and informal base to explore all the joys of Southern Cornwall. Whether it's a trip to the beach, a tropical biodome, picturesque walks or simply a quiet lunch in a harbour, all are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazelmere House Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing