We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazelmere House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelmere House
Ranked #4 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Once again we have returned to what is best described as a "home from home". Such a beautifully maintained place where nothing is too much trouble for either Sheila or Richard and where we have just spent another lovely five days.
I first came across this very well appointed B & B whilst travelling on business a few years ago and have been back with my friend every year but one since then.
Breakfasts so well presented and those egg yokes to die for! Such an easy place to use as a place to visit the rest of Cornwall - this year we went to Land's End, the Minack Theatre, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Mevagissey and Port Isaac (Doc Martin fame).
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Either of the two front bedrooms have lovely views and the sunshine as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbhygiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent two delightful nights at Hazelmere with Richard and Sheila. We were made to feel most welcome and our bedroom was beautifully presented; the bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower wonderfully powerful! Breakfast was delicious and the surroundings idyllic, particularly with the sun shining through the mist onto the hills in front of the house on a bright November morning. We would pay them another visit without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichFoot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed two nights at Hazelmere recently during a short-notice visit to Cornwall.

Richard and Sheila are wonderful hosts and simply could not have been more welcoming - providing a wonderful breakfast on both mornings (my brother-in-law had the free range eggs laid in their garden by Richard and Sheila's chickens!) and just generally making sure we were ok without fussing overly.

Hazelmere House is wonderfully situated at the top of a hill on one side of Lostwithiel, with stunning views of the Cornish countryside from both the bedrooms we saw. And speaking of the rooms...they are very comfortably appointed and spacious, with hot, powerful showers. The decor is classy, modern without being sparse, traditional without being chintzy, and the room was warm despite some very cold weather.

All in all I'd recommend Hazelmere House for visitors to Cornwall at any time of year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just saw the sign for B&B at the side of the road and popped in. We were given a very warm welcome and shown around the rooms. Really outstanding accommodation with lots of very nice touches. Really top notch with good size shower.
Initially were looking for one night but soon decided to stay for the rest of our holiday.
Real attention to detail and nothing was too much trouble (even dried out the covers from our classic sports car for us).
Great views over the countryside, and from our bedroom could also see the chickens in the paddock laying the eggs for our breakfasts.
Food to die for, some home grown. Wide range of good quality perfectly cooked for breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hazelmere House is a high standard and well appointed b & b. Richard and Sheila are very welcoming hosts, their attention to detail is first class and is reflected in top quality furniture, fittings and bedding. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the summer house which was bathed in sunshine, the gardens and views were beautiful. Breakfast each day was excellent with home grown produce being used. We have no hesitation in recommending this b & b as you will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

40GBP is what we paid PP PN but it was worth it. A truely wonderful outlook in a wonderful old House in beautiful grounds it is so easy to see that these hosts are proud of where they live and work. That they are willing to open their home to complete strangers is wonderful and I thank them for the chance to experience this place . They were helpful in telling us we to eat ( the fact that we misheard was our upset not theirs but still an enjoyable time was spent there. , Very knowledgeable hosts and they rooms were top class. We thank you. Anne & Clive from New-Zealand

Room Tip: Take a chance and look at the outside of any place before you book, if it looks well kept then you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi in T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

If you are looking for a B&B in the heart of Cornwall look no further than Halzelmere House, Lostwithiel. The welcome and hospitality you will get from Sheila & Richard Hanson from arrival to departure is 1st class. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and well appointed and the grounds and views surrounding the B&B are picturesque. Start each day off right with one of their fabulous breakfasts, including free range eggs from their own chickens and fruit from their own garden. Hazelmere House is in easy reach of most attractions and beaches in this part of the country. Sheila and Richard are fabulous hosts and went out of thier way to make our hoilday an enjoyable one. We would highly recommend you try this B&B you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earl of Chatham Inn
Earl of Chatham Inn
#6 of 13 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelmere House

Property: Hazelmere House
Address: 58 Grenville Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelmere House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Fowey Valley with rural views overlooking the Historic town of Lostwithiel, Hazelmere House offers exceptional bed and breakfast in Cornwall.Centrally situated and close to the Eden Project, Heligan Gardens and many National Trust properties, come and join us for a comfortable and informal base to explore all the joys of Southern Cornwall. Whether it's a trip to the beach, a tropical biodome, picturesque walks or simply a quiet lunch in a harbour, all are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazelmere House Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing