We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay at Hazlemere House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazelmere House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelmere House
Ranked #4 of 14 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Hazlemere House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my son & was made very welcome by Richard & Sheila.
The room was comfortable and well appointed and we both got a good nights rest.
The Breakfast was lavish and basically couldnt ask for more from our hosts.
I am a regular traveller to Cornwall so will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJColeCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hazelmere House is a beautiful well situated B&B. We had booked four nights initially, but we liked it so much that we decided to stay for six. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. The views to the countryside are beautiful and relaxing. If you would like to avoid busier touristy areas, this is a very nice place to travel from and fairly central within Cornwall; with many beautiful places close by and others at a fair distance. We used it as our base to visit many locations like the Lizard, Mousehole Tintagel, Looe, Fowey, Polperro and some National Trust properties... Lostwithiel, 5 minutes walk from the B&B, is a nice place to walk around and has many lovely little shops and restaurants.

The warmth and generosity of Sheila and Richard are matched by their fresh and lovely breakfasts. The only downside to such a generous offering is that you will need to resist temptation or forget about your waistline during your time there. The scramble eggs are beautifully made and so are the blueberry pancakes. The sausages, black pudding, and fried bread following up,very closely. On top of that, and as a matter of course, everyday, fresh fruit, yogurt, croissant, cereals, seeds, etc. where provided. This breakfast will serve us as a reference, for many to come!

Richard and Sheila made us feel very welcome and at ease from the start. They are very helpful and at the same time discreet. And again, very generous!

We will definitely come back when we go back to Cornwall. We enjoyed our time in Cornwall very much and our stay at Hazelmere House had much to do with it.

Thank you Shelia and Richard, for everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 2, the views were beautiful and had a double aspect. As well as being en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights and can think of nothing that was not beyond our expectations.

The Hansons are the most wonderful, welcoming and generous hosts; Sheila even offered us a lift to a restaurant in Lostwithiel.

Our room was beautiful with a double aspect and equipped to the highest standard as was the bathroom. Nice extra touches were a fan for use if we were too hot during the night and a small telescope on the windowsill so we could take a closer look at the view.

Breakfast was, to quote the late Michael Winner, historic. The buffet groaned under the weight of the huge variety of cereals, seeds, yoghurt, dried fruit, fresh fruit salad and the freshest of fruit juices. Everything you could imagine was available to order, mainly locally sourced, including eggs laid by our hosts' hens.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from a perfect weekend in Lostwithiel at Hazelmere.
Richard and Sheila are perfect hosts and instantly made us feel welcome and shared there local knowledge.
Our room was extremely well equipped with the largest and most comfortable bed I have slept on for a long while. The décor is tasteful and respects the period property (rare in Cornish b'n'bs). And you will find all you need to to have a nice relaxed time. Breakfast is not only varied and delicious but huge. Combine that with our hosts effortless charm, makes for a good start to the day.
We were visiting to complete a foraging course and were really surprised to find what a lovely little town Lostwithiel is and in future I would prefer not to stay on the coast in peak season. The Locals are really friendly and not sick of tourists and you are within 15 minutes drive of some of the best beaches and hidden coves in Cornwall. Combine that with a great selection of Local pubs and restaurants and you have a great base.

Could go on......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielandAnnaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent two nights staying at Hazelmere. We were made especially welcome and our room
was of the very highest standard.
Views over the surrounding countryside are wonderful.
The Breakfast are particularly excellent prepared and cooked to perfection.
Richard and Shiela are the most generous of hosts and can expect to see
us again on a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raybede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Once again we have returned to what is best described as a "home from home". Such a beautifully maintained place where nothing is too much trouble for either Sheila or Richard and where we have just spent another lovely five days.
I first came across this very well appointed B & B whilst travelling on business a few years ago and have been back with my friend every year but one since then.
Breakfasts so well presented and those egg yokes to die for! Such an easy place to use as a place to visit the rest of Cornwall - this year we went to Land's End, the Minack Theatre, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Mevagissey and Port Isaac (Doc Martin fame).
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Either of the two front bedrooms have lovely views and the sunshine as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbhygiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent two delightful nights at Hazelmere with Richard and Sheila. We were made to feel most welcome and our bedroom was beautifully presented; the bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower wonderfully powerful! Breakfast was delicious and the surroundings idyllic, particularly with the sun shining through the mist onto the hills in front of the house on a bright November morning. We would pay them another visit without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichFoot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 14 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 14 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earl of Chatham Inn
Earl of Chatham Inn
#6 of 14 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benthams Guesthouse
Benthams Guesthouse
#14 of 14 in Lostwithiel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelmere House

Property: Hazelmere House
Address: 58 Grenville Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelmere House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Fowey Valley with rural views overlooking the Historic town of Lostwithiel, Hazelmere House offers exceptional bed and breakfast in Cornwall.Centrally situated and close to the Eden Project, Heligan Gardens and many National Trust properties, come and join us for a comfortable and informal base to explore all the joys of Southern Cornwall. Whether it's a trip to the beach, a tropical biodome, picturesque walks or simply a quiet lunch in a harbour, all are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazelmere House Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing