We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Hazelmere House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelmere House
Ranked #3 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this delightful B&B and Sheila and Richard where charming and so helpful with information on the area and recommending places to eat in Lostwithiel where we had some great meals. We drove into the small town every night for dinner and never had any trouble parking. One could walk it but it is quite steep for us older folks to walk back.
Our room was lovely, with a charming bay window with a view across the country side. We had a terrific large bathroom with a great view of the beautiful garden. Richard collected eggs for our breakfast each morning from their hens to go with the delicious breakfast choices.
We were not familiar with this area but found it a great base and visited Fowey, Meagvissey, Jamaica Inn, Lost Gardens of Heligan etc.
We highly recommend this beautiful B & B with its charming hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on way to accommodation near St Ives. Pity we didn't stay longer.

Booked on the back of Trip Advisor recommendations. And yes they're spot on. Beautifully maintained, spotless, lovely airy room, excellent and gleaming shower room. Lovely well tended gardens. No noise from road while we were there.

Hosts charming, helpful and efficient, Lovely English breakfast at communal table (with a lovely farming couple from the Isle of Wight, which made for an interesting chat).

Definitely 5* for a B&B.

Fowey, Looe, Padstow and other treasures within a short ride. (And Camel Valley Vineyard, Bodmin Jail).

We had dinner at Trewithian Restaurant in Lostwithiel, 5 minute drive). One of the highlights of our stay. A foodie, but unpretentious, restaurant. See their website, best to book in advance. Also enjoyed Sam's on the Beach in Polkerris, and Austell's in Carlyon Bay, St Austell.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This b&b is great! Room 2 where we stayed is spacious and has an en-suite. The house is set up above the road so you don't hear too much of the traffic. The breakfast was enormous and delicious and the hosts very helpful (they leant us an umbrella). We would definitely return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMG22001144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip in May 2014. It is just on the outskirts of Lostwithiel, so close (15 min drive) to Eden Project, Fowey, St Austell among others.

The place was booked via Fowey Tourist Information, and it's been perfect. The bedroom was lovely, bed was very comfy, everything clean and in good order. The hosts - Sheila and Richard - have been extremely welcoming and made me feel very comfortable. The perfect hosts really!

The breakfast offered was delicious and had everything needed for a full day's work, including some fantastic homemade jam!

Very good value, and would definitely recommend to others, as well as return myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In Lostwithiel celebrating the 70th birthday of a friend who couldn't fit the house party into a small cottage, I stayed at the Hazlemere House B&B for three nights and was fortunate to find quite such excellent accommodation. My hosts were most hospitable and welcoming and left me with only the most positive of memories. Hazlemere House is recommended without hesitation, my only concern is that if I visit again, which I hope to, it will be "No Vacancies" as it will have become too popular!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just stayed here for two nights and felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. As other reviewers have noted, Sheila and Richard are very friendly and generous hosts. Our room was immaculate and comfortable, the bathroom spotless and well-equipped and the property radiates a genuine warmth. The generous breakfasts included much fresh local food and were superb. Lostwithiel restaurants and pubs are all within easy walking distance. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this has to be one of the best. Would love to return here for a future stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garethwilliam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thank you to Sheila and Richard for a most enjoyable and relaxing break. They made us very welcome into their home and made sure our stay was one to remember. The room was very comfortable, if you are tall, bed 3 is the one for you and super king bed which was a luxury for me! The breakfast was fantastic, Richard's pancakes are a must! Richard and Sheila were very helpful in recommending places to visit and eat. Thoroughly recommended to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#4 of 13 in Lostwithiel
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
279 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tremont Bed & Breakfast
Tremont Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 13 in Lostwithiel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelmere House

Property: Hazelmere House
Address: 58 Grenville Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelmere House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Fowey Valley with rural views overlooking the Historic town of Lostwithiel, Hazelmere House offers exceptional bed and breakfast in Cornwall.Centrally situated and close to the Eden Project, Heligan Gardens and many National Trust properties, come and join us for a comfortable and informal base to explore all the joys of Southern Cornwall. Whether it's a trip to the beach, a tropical biodome, picturesque walks or simply a quiet lunch in a harbour, all are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazelmere House Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing