We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dairy Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boconnoc House

Boconnoc House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boconnoc is a country house in South East Cornwall tucked down two miles of private roads. The main house is 18th century and has been restored over the last 12 years. It is surrounded by park and woodland with beautiful views down the valley to the lake and once you arrive there is total peace and tranquility. The property is available to hire for weddings, events, house parties or corporate events. There are four large reception rooms and 9 bedrooms in the house and anther 9 bedrooms in total in three holiday houses onsite. Whether you want a romantic champagne and cream tea for 2, a peaceful holiday for the family or a wedding party of 250 Boconnoc is an ideal location.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dairy Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Eternally in the quest for finding amazing places to stay far from the madding crowd as it were it was to my great pleasure that we stumbled across Baconnoc.
We stayed in a little cottage called the Dairy Cottage with incredible views overlooking stunning parkland dotted with newly born lambs running around.
Melted into the comfy bed that was just the ticket after a long day of gallivanting around to places like the Eden Project and Watergate Bay.
I can't wait to rebook in the summer...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tai1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Taihur Khan, Very many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Dairy House and the trips you could take from the estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have just spent a brilliant New Year at Boconnoc. Over 20 of us stayed in the main house and the cottages in the stable yard for three nights. The house itself, set in a beautiful valley and overlooking a lake, is the perfect place for a party. There are endless amazing rooms to choose from, yet the whole place has a very laid back feel. You can walk for miles through the parkland, take a short drive to the beaches on the south coast or cosy up in the library and watch films on the projector. It was hard to tear ourselves away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice13_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Laikey Byng, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Boconnoc House over New Year. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

It isn't often one can write a review without at a least a disppointing comment to spoil things, but not here! My sincere congratulations to Mrs Fortescue and her team in arranging a lunch with discrete service, excellent food and in a venue that became a 'home from home'. All my guests had a very enjoyable day and were more than complementary about the venue and the arrangements. It was, very simply, perfect! There's nothing more to say!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Gastronome UK, We are very pleased you loved your lunch at Boconnoc. We do hope to see you here in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were invited to a 60th Birthday luncheon at Bocconoc, and everything about the day was wonderful.

Drinks and very tasty canapés in the Drawing Room followed by a lunch for 21 in the Dining Room. Then back to the Drawing Room for coffee and later afternoon tea.

Splendid and considerate service from the Management and unobtrusive but super-efficient service from the staff. All the food was nice but especially the canapés, pheasant main course, Cornish cheeses and tea scones.

Can not recommend it highly enough for a wedding , birthday or other celebration.

Thanks to Mrs Fortescue and to all concerned.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Guest Relations Manager at Boconnoc House, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear DeCoucey, Thank you for reviewing Boconnoc. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the food during the 60th birthday you attended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Was there to do some Family History research. Thank you Veryan for your help. Beautiful & well kept estate. Wasn't there for any of their annual events, but would loved to go back when they do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Events at Boconnoc House, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Carol Holz, We do hope the rest of your history research was successful. Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boconnoc House also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Boconnoc House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing