We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No personality and desperately in need of updating” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“No personality and desperately in need of updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is one of the many Best Western (oxy-moron) hotels I have stayed in recently which really do need updating. I appreciate they are billed as 'good value' and 'basic' but with the emergence of very competitive chains such as Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express these privately owned hotels need to consider the quality of what they offering to ensure they don't lose-out.

The Restormel Lodge is devoid of personality, both in terms of the fabric which is like stepping back into the 90's. Lumpy mattresses, pillows like old tyres and staff with no sense of customer service other than to bring you the things you ask for.

Food is OK to average, the toaster in the morning either gives you barely-toasted lines or if you put the bread in for a 2nd trip - cremation. I loathe these self-service toasters, a sign of lazy kitchen staff who should be able to produce a decent piece of toast as a bare minimum.

Evening meal highlights were microwaved lasagne with chips (yippee, double carbs!) and as we all know any self-respected Italian restaurant serves this combo.

Out-dated and in need of a good shake-up to bring it kicking and screaming into the 21st century.

There's a Premier Inn in Bodmin - 6 miles away. That would get my vote.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corporatedrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow my apologies for our Hotel not exceeding your expectations, we have invested a lot in our Hotel in the last few years and its a shame you haven't recognised this. I do hope you feel you can contact me directly so we can rectify all the problems you encountered, especially as I thought all our rooms & food offerings were upto a good standard now in comparison to what we charge as a good value 3 star Hotel; we haven't had a review like this in a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    187
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
93
248
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The room I stayed in was tired to say the least. The bed was worn out resulting in a poor nights sleep and sore back in the morning. The food was pretty good in the restaurant, however the service at dinner and breakfast was appalling. At dinner, the service was slow with no attention to detail. At breakfast the girl that served clearly just didnt want to be there. I think this is a shame as the kitchen does some nice food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow again my apologies for our Hotel not exceeding your expectations, we have invested a lot in our Hotel in the last few years and its a shame you haven't recognised this. I do hope you feel you can contact me directly so we can rectify all the problems you encountered, especially as I thought all our rooms & food offerings were upto a good standard now in comparison to what we charge as a good value 3 star Hotel; we haven't had reviews like this in a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worc's
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I and our two girls stayed here for one night on the 2nd Nov. Our rooms we beautiful and the twin room the girls had was enormous [the hotel had been great even before we got there as they had been able to give us rooms next door to each which was a late request I made]. We were warmly greeted at reception. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant that evening and it was really useful to know that they had a large party eating that evening. It didn't effect us as we wanted to eat early anyway. The chef even offered to start cooking earlier for us and the food and service was fab! All the staff we met were friendly and polite and eager to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Breakfast the next day was very tasty. I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyblonde40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, its lovely to hear and I will of course pass on all your comments to my staff, we look forward to seeing you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel.
Stayed in room 9. Excellent room, very large.
Food good, ideal location for me to travel to Falmouth, st Austell, Bodmin and liskeard.
Great value overall and easy to find. Plenty of parking.
Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whingefreezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, as you mentioned room 9 rest assured it is our largest room, complete with a 42" Plasma TV and a big bathroom! We look forward to seeing you again here in Lostwithiel and we hope we can give you the same room as its always in high demand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 10 hours in the place and to be honest for the price it's good enough. Great nights sleep and breakfast was delicious. The staff were very attentive although it states the bar is open till 11 but when asked for a bottle of wine 20 mins before closing time we were told no. It says sausages on the breakfast menu but you only get one sausage.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Riweb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We could not have asked for a better place. Value for money, customer service, room quality, all was excellent. I would highly recommend this chain of hotels wherever you go. They are really superb. My wife and I were really impressed with the price and value. Much cheaper and better facilities than a normal bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmcgov3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Best Western hotels are all usually good, and The Restormel Lodge Hotel in Lostwithiel is really comfortable, must have been recently refurbished, as our room was spacious, comfortable and pristine, especially the bathroom. Good buffet breakfast, most generous helpings. Evening menu looked good, but didn't eat in. Lostwithiel itself is a lovely little Cornish town and the hotel is right in the centre of it. Everything in walking distance and a good base for traveling to other parts of Cornwall. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Probably all good, we had room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
19.1 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
18.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley

Property: BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
Address: 7 Castle Hill, Lostwithiel PL22 0DD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Restormel Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Fowey Valley, Lostwithiel has been recently classified as the most desirable place to live in the United Kingdom, Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel offers modern comfort and traditional hospitality. Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel is centrally situated on the A390 with many places of interest within Cornwall in easy reach. Eden Project is 6 miles away, Lost Gardens of Heligan is 12 miles and National Trust Lanhydrock House is only 3 miles. In addition to this, the hotel boasts a prime location in the peaceful town of Lostwithiel famous for antiques and the Duchy Palace (the oldest building in Cornwall), something much appreciated by the many guests who return year after year. The hotel has been modernised and is up to date with free WiFi throughout and all rooms have 32" flat screen televisions with freeview. The outdoor heated swimming pool is open from April to October and provides a refreshing start to the day. Pets are welcome within certain rooms on request only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Restormel Hotel Lostwithiel
Best Western Lostwithiel
Lostwithiel Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing