We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a plain straight forward hotel that needs a bit of updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just a plain straight forward hotel that needs a bit of updating.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nothing wrong with my stay but nothing outstanding either. The bed was comfy, room was clean. But there was no spark here, so if you're looking for something special or up to date - look elsewhere. Lostwithiel is lovely, check out lical pubs rather than the souless bar. The hotel is right on a busy main road but parking round back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmAlwaysOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for your review, its true we are in a quiet sleepy town especially this time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    189
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
95
252
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
michelle8671
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

A last minute booking for a meal with friends. I wasn't expecting too much because from outside its kerb appeal is rather unassuming. The hotel was extremely quiet for a Saturday evening. We were taken to a large dining room of which our table was one of 3 occupied.
The dining room was nicely decorated but rather cold. The tables were nicely set with nice linens.

The menu was varied with a good choice. All of our meals were cooked and presented well with no corners cut. Salads were well dressed and sauces homemade, portions were generous and the service was prompt and polite.

I have eaten and a lot of restaurants throughout Cornwall and have to say the food we were served was right up there with fine dining. I am surprised the restaurant was not bursting at the seams! Obviously Restormel Lodge is hiding its light under a Bushel. So you don't need to stay here to use their restaurant so I advise locals to give it a try as you wont be disappointed...oh and its not fine dining prices either! Well done Restormel Lodge, we all really enjoyed our meal and will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle8671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for such a great review, my chefs and restaurant staff will be so pleased to read this, and don't worry the heating and fire in the lounge is on permanently now should you return soon on one of these cold winter nights! Simon & the Restormel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betws Y Coed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Everything about this Hotel was great from comfort of the room to excellent food and freeview TV which all best Western dont offer, my only little complaint would be a buffet cooked breakfast as most things tend to be only warm and the eggs are always overdone

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments its so great to hear and read them which I will pass on to all of my Team. I take note reference our buffet breakfast and I will see what we I can do to improve our offering for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is one of the many Best Western (oxy-moron) hotels I have stayed in recently which really do need updating. I appreciate they are billed as 'good value' and 'basic' but with the emergence of very competitive chains such as Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express these privately owned hotels need to consider the quality of what they offering to ensure they don't lose-out.

The Restormel Lodge is devoid of personality, both in terms of the fabric which is like stepping back into the 90's. Lumpy mattresses, pillows like old tyres and staff with no sense of customer service other than to bring you the things you ask for.

Food is OK to average, the toaster in the morning either gives you barely-toasted lines or if you put the bread in for a 2nd trip - cremation. I loathe these self-service toasters, a sign of lazy kitchen staff who should be able to produce a decent piece of toast as a bare minimum.

Evening meal highlights were microwaved lasagne with chips (yippee, double carbs!) and as we all know any self-respected Italian restaurant serves this combo.

Out-dated and in need of a good shake-up to bring it kicking and screaming into the 21st century.

There's a Premier Inn in Bodmin - 6 miles away. That would get my vote.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corporatedrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow my apologies for our Hotel not exceeding your expectations, we have invested a lot in our Hotel in the last few years and its a shame you haven't recognised this. I do hope you feel you can contact me directly so we can rectify all the problems you encountered, especially as I thought all our rooms & food offerings were upto a good standard now in comparison to what we charge as a good value 3 star Hotel; we haven't had a review like this in a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The room I stayed in was tired to say the least. The bed was worn out resulting in a poor nights sleep and sore back in the morning. The food was pretty good in the restaurant, however the service at dinner and breakfast was appalling. At dinner, the service was slow with no attention to detail. At breakfast the girl that served clearly just didnt want to be there. I think this is a shame as the kitchen does some nice food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow again my apologies for our Hotel not exceeding your expectations, we have invested a lot in our Hotel in the last few years and its a shame you haven't recognised this. I do hope you feel you can contact me directly so we can rectify all the problems you encountered, especially as I thought all our rooms & food offerings were upto a good standard now in comparison to what we charge as a good value 3 star Hotel; we haven't had reviews like this in a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worc's
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I and our two girls stayed here for one night on the 2nd Nov. Our rooms we beautiful and the twin room the girls had was enormous [the hotel had been great even before we got there as they had been able to give us rooms next door to each which was a late request I made]. We were warmly greeted at reception. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant that evening and it was really useful to know that they had a large party eating that evening. It didn't effect us as we wanted to eat early anyway. The chef even offered to start cooking earlier for us and the food and service was fab! All the staff we met were friendly and polite and eager to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Breakfast the next day was very tasty. I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyblonde40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, its lovely to hear and I will of course pass on all your comments to my staff, we look forward to seeing you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel.
Stayed in room 9. Excellent room, very large.
Food good, ideal location for me to travel to Falmouth, st Austell, Bodmin and liskeard.
Great value overall and easy to find. Plenty of parking.
Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whingefreezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, as you mentioned room 9 rest assured it is our largest room, complete with a 42" Plasma TV and a big bathroom! We look forward to seeing you again here in Lostwithiel and we hope we can give you the same room as its always in high demand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
19.1 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley

Property: BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
Address: 7 Castle Hill, Lostwithiel PL22 0DD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Restormel Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Fowey Valley, Lostwithiel has been recently classified as the most desirable place to live in the United Kingdom, Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel offers modern comfort and traditional hospitality. Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel is centrally situated on the A390 with many places of interest within Cornwall in easy reach. Eden Project is 6 miles away, Lost Gardens of Heligan is 12 miles and National Trust Lanhydrock House is only 3 miles. In addition to this, the hotel boasts a prime location in the peaceful town of Lostwithiel famous for antiques and the Duchy Palace (the oldest building in Cornwall), something much appreciated by the many guests who return year after year. The hotel has been modernised and is up to date with free WiFi throughout and all rooms have 32" flat screen televisions with freeview. The outdoor heated swimming pool is open from April to October and provides a refreshing start to the day. Pets are welcome within certain rooms on request only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Restormel Hotel Lostwithiel
Best Western Lostwithiel
Lostwithiel Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing