We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our break in Cornwall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our break in Cornwall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was really nice, but the absence of buses serving the village of Lostwithiel was missed, as I like relaxing on a bus & admiring the Cornish scenery. The hotel had lots of charm & the location was good, being @ the heart of the village of Lostwithiel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is a shame that there are very few buses that go through the Lostwithiel, however there is a train station in the centre of town which passes through some lovely scenic areas of Cornwall! Simon and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    187
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
93
246
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a great stay with our two girls aged 7 and 11 they loved the swimming pool which was clean and warm. The room was clean and the decor was very modern and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were so friendly and chatty encouraging us to eat all we liked. The only minor moan we had is that the beds were a bit creaky especially the bunk beds! We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. One of the staff mentioned that the swimming pool was possibly going to be removed, we think this would be a great shame and was one of the reasons I booked this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Simon and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Guest room extremely clean with good furnishings and very comfortable bed. Internet speed good and breakfast excellent. Check-in and check-out very efficient, and would definitely go back again - in fact I am, next week!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, so much that you returned! Simon and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel with my wife and three kids aged 8, 6 and 3. From start to finish it was a joy. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Plenty of choice for breakfast with a choice of continental, cereals and full English. Spent yesterday afternoon in the pool which we had to ourselves. Pool is heated which was great. We had a family room which was spacious and clean. It had two rooms, one with bunk beds for the kids and they put an extra bed in the main room with the king size double bed to accommodate the five of us. Beds are very comfortable. The only downside I can think of is the price of the drinks in the bar - £3.75 for a pint of Carling and £4.75 for a large glass of wine. This is the only that stopped me giving it a rating of 5. Other than that this was a gem of a hotel and we will definitely be booking again. Many thanks to the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We were in room 12 which overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I'm so pleased and proud to read your review, thank you, we have 2 great new family rooms now, all we need is a slide from their windows straight into the pool! Sorry about our Bar Prices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely clean room for 3, wifi excellent, food and choice for breakfast was superb, a choice of full English or continental with varity of drinks.
Nice outdoor pool.good parking
Excellent central location, near to eden project, pol perry, st Ives.
Lovely little town with river running through, many pubs and takeaways.

Room Tip: We had room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelllewellyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your great review, we have 12 Triple Rooms now available, all recently refurbished!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Although I have been so disappointed with Best Western Hotels in the past, I didn't let this put me off and booked this hotel as it was convenient to us when travelling to Cornwall for the week as a one-night stay before we checked into our pre-booked cottage for the week.

We arrived very late and was kindly left the key to our room and a welcome message with details on facilities.

Breakfast was standard but an hour from breakfast finishing they were running out of everything - pastries, fruit, juice etc.

Our room was clean and spacious and very peaceful. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The only slightly negative thing that I would say it that the hotel is a little bit tired & dated and needs a bit of general maintenance.

I would happily recommend to friend and family and is great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Very high praise indeed thank you, as one of 280 Best Western Hotels in the UK we are always trying to keep up to date with everything, and I will keep our maintenance team pushing forward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
19.1 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
18.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley

Property: BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
Address: 7 Castle Hill, Lostwithiel PL22 0DD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Restormel Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Fowey Valley, Lostwithiel has been recently classified as the most desirable place to live in the United Kingdom, Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel offers modern comfort and traditional hospitality. Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel is centrally situated on the A390 with many places of interest within Cornwall in easy reach. Eden Project is 6 miles away, Lost Gardens of Heligan is 12 miles and National Trust Lanhydrock House is only 3 miles. In addition to this, the hotel boasts a prime location in the peaceful town of Lostwithiel famous for antiques and the Duchy Palace (the oldest building in Cornwall), something much appreciated by the many guests who return year after year. The hotel has been modernised and is up to date with free WiFi throughout and all rooms have 32" flat screen televisions with freeview. The outdoor heated swimming pool is open from April to October and provides a refreshing start to the day. Pets are welcome within certain rooms on request only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Restormel Hotel Lostwithiel
Best Western Lostwithiel
Lostwithiel Best Western
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing