We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Fowey Valley
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend whilst visiting Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project, a 5.5hr drive overnight from our home. Found it to be a very good alternative to Premier Inn. We had a room for 3 adults, 1 double, 1 single which the Premier Inn does not have. This made it very cost effective versus having to have 2 rooms. Choice at breakfast was adequate but in my opinion quality better than Premier Inn and service certainly more personal. This hotel had a heated swimming pool, not so large but still very welcome when returning from a hot day's excursion. Only downside was no climate control in the room but then the summer temperature was quite high at the time. The overall comfort and relaxation experience made this issue not so much of a problem. Access to car parking is restrictive, narrow streets either side of the hotel and not for the faint hearted with large cars. Would love to find an excuse to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 628RAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our pool area. Simon and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one night, booking two rooms, one a twin for my parents and a nearby single room for myself, whilst visiting Landrynock and the Eden Project.

Lostwithiel is a very quiet town and the hotel is well-situated within walking distance of all of the local amenities. It is also very handy for the Eden Project which was no more than 15 minutes away by car.

Check-in was efficient and both rooms were light and comfortable, with all of the expected facilities, including tea, coffee and biscuits! Everything was very clean and the bathrooms boasted good-sized shower enclosures and both powerful and hot showers. Wi-fi was free and the reception was excellent. One slight concern would be the lack of air-conditioning and for that reason I would suggest a first floor room, as we had, so that the windows can be left open for cool air at night.

Breakfast was a buffet affair and the quality was good, with plenty of choice. You could also order specials which Mum & Dad did and they enjoyed their smoked haddock and poached egg! Service was prompt and efficient and a special mention for Jess who was always busy, both serving and keeping an eye out to make sure that the buffet area remained fully-stocked.

In summary, we were very pleased with the Restormel Lodge and would certainly stay here again, particularly if we could get a good rate. Incidentally, I booked direct with Best Western at a lower price than was available through the likes of Booking.com and Expedia so don't assume that they are always cheaper as in this case they were not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks so much for your great review, all our reviews are read out at our weekly managers meetings and Jess will be so pleased to hear her name!
Unfortunately we don't have air-conditioning, but we do have a lovely outdoor heated pool to cool yourself off in, and don't forget if you call us direct you will always get the best price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Staff very attentive and courteous, location ideal to explore Cornwall. Rooms were very clean, tidy and provided good standard of features. Pool was good temperature. Restaurant provided a good range of choice for breakfast and staff were on hand to help with choices and to provide for needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We love hearing things about our lovely staff so thank you very much, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Our pool is on @ 32 degrees, great for the weather we have today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A group of us stayed at the hotel over the weekend.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. There are tea and coffee making facilities available, although there was no milk in my room. A bottle of water in the room would have been a nice touch.
Bar prices were on the high side but expected in a hotel.
Breakfast was good with a large selection on choices.
Reception was efficient and we were all in our rooms within ten minutes of stepping through the door.
Plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel.
My one bit of advice would be ask for a room at the back of the hotel. I had room 29 which is on the main road. Although having double glazing I was kept awake with traffic noise.
That said I would stay again but would request a room away from the front and away from the stairs to that section of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks so much for your comments, with the hot weather we are experiencing we will be happy to provide fresh milk from the kitchen anytime, please just ask any members of our staff. We do have a mixture of different room types in different parts of the Hotel, next time call us and we can see what we can do. Simon & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I rang late and asked for a good deal for a weekend. AND was given one!!

Fantastic room, food and service.
I have stayed here before and always get the same excellent treatment.
It is always spotless, clean and airy. I love the breakfast choice selection and quality.

There was a coach load staying this time. I thought they had all left as we were not disturbed at all.
Thanks again to Simon Trina and the team.

Room Tip: I like low numbers with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks so much for a great review, we love having repeat guests back; you should escape to Cornwall more often and enjoy this amazing weather we are currently having! Always call us direct for great offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just returned from four night stay at this hotel had a wonderful time. We stayed in room 2 a superior room very nicely decorated clean and comfortable. The restaurant served excellent food the bacon at breakfast is very tasty, the staff whom are all very young could not do enough for you. Although there is not a lot to do in loswithiel the hotel is ideally situated for the Eden project and the lost gardens of heligan etc. would definitely recommend this hotel and would personally stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are quite a lot bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planky5220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are pleased you like room 2, its a lovely superior room over looking our pool! As you said Eden Project is only 10 minutes away and Heligan 30 mins, both amazing things to see and do locally. Hope to see you here again soon! Simon & the Restormel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a great stay here. Hotel is clean, friendly and staff were excellent. Restaurant was good for breakfast - all help yourself and good quality. Bedrooms were spacious and bathroom was a good size. All v clean

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Dewdneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for a lovely review, please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
19.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,415 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
16.9 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#2 of 4 in Truro
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fowey Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fowey Valley

Address: Castle Hill, Lostwithiel PL22 0DD, England (Formerly Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: £40 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Fowey Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Fowey Valley, Lostwithiel has been recently classified as the most desirable place to live in the United Kingdom, Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel offers modern comfort and traditional hospitality. Best Western Restormel Lodge Hotel is centrally situated on the A390 with many places of interest within Cornwall in easy reach. Eden Project is 6 miles away, Lost Gardens of Heligan is 12 miles and National Trust Lanhydrock House is only 3 miles. In addition to this, the hotel boasts a prime location in the peaceful town of Lostwithiel famous for antiques and the Duchy Palace (the oldest building in Cornwall), something much appreciated by the many guests who return year after year. The hotel has been modernised and is up to date with free WiFi throughout and all rooms have 32" flat screen televisions with freeview. The outdoor heated swimming pool is open from April to October and provides a refreshing start to the day. Pets are welcome within certain rooms on request only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fowey Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Restormel Hotel Lostwithiel
Best Western Lostwithiel
Lostwithiel Best Western
Best Western Fowey Valley Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing