We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
337
273
68
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
273
68
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden project recommend this hotel outdoor pool lovely hotel groupon deal plenty of parking car park family room main building the staff were friendly and helpful stayed for nights weekend break exploring cornwall buffet style evening meal good size the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2019

Stayed from the 5th to the 8th Jan with our chocolate lab and as usual Simon & his team provide just the recipe for a relaxing break following the Christmas festivities. Great food, excellent accommodation & a great team, we will be back again without a doubt.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shovie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KernowJeg, Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I look forward to being able to give your gorgeous dog 'belly rubs' again soon and, of course, to welcoming the two humans back as well!

Kind Regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019

This week we stayed for one night, this was a groupon gift from our daughter and her family.

We had a great welcome from friendly reception staff and our room was very comfortable. The room falities were good with plenty of hot water, good tea and coffee making facilites and excellent WIFI.
Car parking was good.and the breakfast the next morning was really good.

We would not hesitate in staying again and will recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KernowJeg, Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

This was our second visit to the hotel. We opted to stay in the annexe, where the rooms are spacious and comfortable. These have been recently renovated and have good showers and very comfortable beds. Although overlooking the car park, Lostwithiel is quiet and there was no external noise. It should, however, be made clearer that these rooms are reached by external steps. It was also difficult to control the room temperature and the corridor outside was unheated.
Staff are friendly and welcoming and the location is delightful..
Breakfasts and the lunch we ate were average, and could have been improved by the use of local produce, such as jams. The hotel has a dated feel in terms of its decor. The bar was almost deserted and was evidently not the venue of choice for local people. We enjoyed our stay, but felt that the hotel could benefit from some upgrading.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mavowilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneM4542, Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you for your comments. We do use a lot of local produce but I do like the idea of our chef's making their own jams and I will be discussing this with them.

We have an ongoing maintenance/refurbishment programme and the bar and restaurant are actually next on the list. I do hope that you will come and see us again so that you can see the improvements that we will be making.

Kind Regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Lovely staff throughout the hotel, ample free parking. Our room was a double and was very clean, cosy and warm, All supplies replenished daily and room made up. Breakfast was cooked to order with plenty of choice. We walked 5 mins to Lostwithiel station and caught the train to St Ives and also spent a day in Fowey which was a 10 minute drive. Thanks to all at the hotel for our relaxing stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneM4542, Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

I am glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay, thank you for taking the time to let us know. The train journey down to St Ives is very scenic and so much less hassle than trying to park there!

I hope we get the chance to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Welcoming staff on arrival. Room was spacious, comfortable and an excellent level in cleanliness. All meals were freshly cooked but some customers complained amongst themselves with regard to the short wait for meals but when asked if all ok the guests replied "yes" (no pleasing some people). I personally would rather wait for fresh food. Waiting staff were very informative and helpful.
The hotel has a great location for nearby attractions,
Great value for money.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 44yento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneM4542, Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

I am glad that I am not the only one who is willing to wait if food is freshly cooked!

I always think it is a great compliment when a guest says that they would recommend us, thank you.

I hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews