We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and accommodating Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Hotel is very convenient to stay at whilst working in the South West, rooms a little tired but very comfortable.
Staff very attentive and friendly.
Gym and pool facilities are easy accessible.
Food - Breakfast very good, Evening Bar Food good selection and good size portions.
I would definitely stay again.
I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and myself stayed for a weekend break in july 2014 we were in a barn conversion just off the main building, the rooms were quite large and well decorated with a big soft bed and nice lighting making it quite romantic, we did use the indoor pool which was warm , the hotel receptionist was nice and supplied towels on request as there were none in the room for the pool.we had the breakfast in the dining room and settled for the continental breakfast and not the fry up , the aaiting staff were friendly and very good, the bar meals were fairly cheap and a decent size .there is a pool and snooker table in the bar and on saturday night they had a guest singer in the bar with dancing.although this is generally a golf hotel we did not feel out of place and were made welcome by the club members, now the bad bits, the room smelt a bit musky and could do with a refit but generally thats all and we would go back again as its a nice place to stay near fowey and looe etc but if you're arriving from A30 dont let sat nav take you down the lanes just carry straight on on the main road its alot easier

Room Tip: Although free wi fi it wouldnt work due to lack of signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After attending a wedding through out the day, which was pleasant, although staff seemed unorganized We where leaving the venue when a drunken idiot of the same wedding part decided to smash our back window in as we where driving away, i know that this was not the establishments fault, what i was disgusted in was the owners attitude towards the event, he didn't want to know, didn't console my mother whose car it was. He told us there is no security cameras and that we must just go and ring the police, he then continued to stand with some members of the group who did it, gossiping and laughing! His barman Sam was also more interested in his friends ( again same group of IDIOTS ) Overall a poor establishment with a poor excuse of a owner! What kind of place doesn't have cameras in the car park!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kayleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overall a poor experience. Room was clean and bedding fresh but the place has a generally dillapidated look about it everywhere. Carpets especially in public areas are worn, outdoor furniture on the terraces looks tired, weeds everywhere. 10 years ago this must have been quite a pleasant place to stay. Not expensive but it could be so much better. The thing that really spoilt it for me and lead to a poor review was the fact that I was unable to get breakfast in the morning. A big coach party had booked and basically they were getting all the waitress attention. After 20 minutes of waiting for not even a cup of tea to turn up I just ran out of time and had to leave to go to a business meeting. That was a bad start to the day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a one nighter with son playing golf. Does what it says on the tin, with acceptable and comfortable accommodation. But has its downfalls - the food, particularly the breakfast was 50 minutes coming and really wasn't worth the wait - the chef was "having a Gordon Ramsey" moment apparently!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed with my sister to visit Eden Project. Great potential but tired. Stayed in room 8 in Granary and we could hear other guests. Furnishings old and tired, bathroom very, old and tired. Beds spotlessly clean, hot water was plentiful, the shower was challenging. All staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast fine, bar meal tasty and reasonably priced.
Not top quality, but not top prices, we weren't disappointed with the value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here as a stop-gap and found this little place. For the money this gives decent clean honest accommodation. We were put in a lovely bright airy room which had a huge double bed (2 twins zipped together) plus a further single bed. Windows on each side of the room gave for some lovely welcomed fresh air as we were experiencing some unusually hot weather. Bedding was spotless and so too was the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and hot with extras to the norm like haddock with poached egg. We ate in the Clubhouse Bar for the evening which was busy but very friendly and homely. Bar food was good and service was prompt, polite and effecient. We would definitely stay here again should the need arise. Really friendly welcoming staff. Well done all - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 as this had dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacee858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
212 reviews
4.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
5.9 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: £45 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing