We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surroundings, compact but comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
“Nice surroundings, compact but comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Overnight stay at Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country club was very pleasant. The front of house very helpful. Stayed in barn conversion. Rooms compact but very comfortable, and fine for resting up after a round of golf. Good breakfast following morning. Looking forward to returning with my golf clubs next time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luvalurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    44
    25
    19
    22
See reviews for
27
63
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Hotel is very convenient to stay at whilst working in the South West, rooms a little tired but very comfortable.
Staff very attentive and friendly.
Gym and pool facilities are easy accessible.
Food - Breakfast very good, Evening Bar Food good selection and good size portions.
I would definitely stay again.
I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and myself stayed for a weekend break in july 2014 we were in a barn conversion just off the main building, the rooms were quite large and well decorated with a big soft bed and nice lighting making it quite romantic, we did use the indoor pool which was warm , the hotel receptionist was nice and supplied towels on request as there were none in the room for the pool.we had the breakfast in the dining room and settled for the continental breakfast and not the fry up , the aaiting staff were friendly and very good, the bar meals were fairly cheap and a decent size .there is a pool and snooker table in the bar and on saturday night they had a guest singer in the bar with dancing.although this is generally a golf hotel we did not feel out of place and were made welcome by the club members, now the bad bits, the room smelt a bit musky and could do with a refit but generally thats all and we would go back again as its a nice place to stay near fowey and looe etc but if you're arriving from A30 dont let sat nav take you down the lanes just carry straight on on the main road its alot easier

Room Tip: Although free wi fi it wouldnt work due to lack of signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

After attending a wedding through out the day, which was pleasant, although staff seemed unorganized We where leaving the venue when a drunken idiot of the same wedding part decided to smash our back window in as we where driving away, i know that this was not the establishments fault, what i was disgusted in was the owners attitude towards the event, he didn't want to know, didn't console my mother whose car it was. He told us there is no security cameras and that we must just go and ring the police, he then continued to stand with some members of the group who did it, gossiping and laughing! His barman Sam was also more interested in his friends ( again same group of IDIOTS ) Overall a poor establishment with a poor excuse of a owner! What kind of place doesn't have cameras in the car park!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kayleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lostwithiel hotels

Leafield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overall a poor experience. Room was clean and bedding fresh but the place has a generally dillapidated look about it everywhere. Carpets especially in public areas are worn, outdoor furniture on the terraces looks tired, weeds everywhere. 10 years ago this must have been quite a pleasant place to stay. Not expensive but it could be so much better. The thing that really spoilt it for me and lead to a poor review was the fact that I was unable to get breakfast in the morning. A big coach party had booked and basically they were getting all the waitress attention. After 20 minutes of waiting for not even a cup of tea to turn up I just ran out of time and had to leave to go to a business meeting. That was a bad start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a one nighter with son playing golf. Does what it says on the tin, with acceptable and comfortable accommodation. But has its downfalls - the food, particularly the breakfast was 50 minutes coming and really wasn't worth the wait - the chef was "having a Gordon Ramsey" moment apparently!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed with my sister to visit Eden Project. Great potential but tired. Stayed in room 8 in Granary and we could hear other guests. Furnishings old and tired, bathroom very, old and tired. Beds spotlessly clean, hot water was plentiful, the shower was challenging. All staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast fine, bar meal tasty and reasonably priced.
Not top quality, but not top prices, we weren't disappointed with the value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trenython Manor
Trenython Manor
#1 of 1 in Par
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club

Property: Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club
Address: Lower Polscoe, Lostwithiel PL22 0HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf And Country Club
Lostwithiel Hotel Country
Lostwithiel Hotel Golf & Country Club Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing