We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An American's first stay in a cosy Cornwall town!”
other travellers have booked this property
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach. Patio overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach.
Patio overlooking river
Master bedroom and shower room.
Double bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
Top floor Moroccan twin bedroom with en suite shower room.
Cornish cream tea on the patio
Ground floor sitting room    doors onto patio.
Ground floor sitting room.
Ground floor sitting room.
First floor sitting area.
First floor sitting area.
First floor dining area.
First floor kitchen area.
Master bedroom and shower room
Double bedroom.
Looking over bridge into Lostwithiel
From Patio looking upriver.
Bridge at high tide.
Fowey river outside Brunel Quays.
Lostwithiel's Restormel Castle.
Eden Project 4 miles from house.
Par Beach 4.5 miles from house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jess T
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An American's first stay in a cosy Cornwall town!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this property in Cornwall and thought this part of England was very charming and beautiful.

The house was very clean and didn't feel like a holiday house at all because there were nice paintings and little touches everywhere. The house provided means of entertainment when my friends and I were in the mood to take it easy and stay in. There is a wonderful selection of books, movies and games. More than anything in the house though, I appreciated the decorations and design the most, every room is darling and comfortable!

We were a little worried about how close by the train was but it actually ended up being a bonus. We did rent a car but BE WARNED many of the local roads in Cornwall are barely wide enough for one car, let alone two and they are not marked as narrow. As Americans, with our wide and well-marked roads, we were quite intimidated and found driving to be a challenge. We ended up taking the two compartment local train all over the county, which was great as we didn't have to cope with roads, traffic and parking issues.

The town of Lostwithiel is very quaint and friendly and we got to know several of the local businesses , like Frans Pantry Pasty Shop. YUM!!! Although, we had to keep in mind that the places throughout the town had early closing hours. Overall, it was such a wonderful stay, if we return we will definitely stay at this lovely property again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old charm of the town was my favorite aspect
Liked least: I had to get use to things closing at an earlier hour than what I'm accustom to
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfk1958
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Moorings is what it advertises. A modern townhouse , very nicely equipped, well maintained and spotlessly clean. We used the TV room and patio as it overlooks the river and is a restful place to sit. The patio on the ground floor would be great on a warm day! The open plan living on first floor is very comfortable and all one needs is provided. Cornish cream tea , wine etc were a nice touch.

When we saw the railway near by we were concerned but actually it was fine, very useful to get into Plymouth. Certainly good for touring, plenty of local walks , castle etc and good restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved walking around the corner to get fresh local pasties and it is useful having a supermarket in the village.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne S
Lisburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house. Well equipped. Lovely location.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay at The Moorings. This is the best holiday house we have stayed in. The house looked exactly as advertised on the website. It was spotless and very well equipped. It was very centrally located and within walking distance of pubs and restaurants. It was lovely to barbecue on the patio beside the river. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday house”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Moorings is an excellently equipped house in a lovely location. Lostwithiel has good amenities including some nice places to eat out. On one side of the house the river runs by, whilst on the other side of the property there is the railway line. The house was very clean and comfortable and the owner contacted us during our stay to ensure everything was OK.I would definitely return here if I was to visit Cornwall in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danecourt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
4
people found this review helpful

This is our second visit to The Moorings, once during the summer with friends and the second time in November with a different set of friends, we were all thrilled the moment we walked through the front door, you can tell straight away what the rest of the house will be like and we all loved it immediately. The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean and furnished to a very high standard and with exceptional taste, from the unusual artwork to the quality of the bedlinen and towels. It is within easy walking distance of the village and just yards from the railway station. The patio area is great for relaxing and enjoying the wonderful views of the river especially with a glass of wine on a lovely warm evening. Having two lounges (both with TV, DVD and CD players) and three bathrooms is a real bonus for familes, but for us the kitchen/diner leading into the first floor lounge was really spacious with its corner settee (seating for 6) and the balcony doors opening up onto the river. I’m sure we will be back again this year probably twice as both sets of friends want to visit again too! I cannot recommend this property enough, absolutely fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing