We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, beautiful property.”
other travellers have booked this property
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach. Patio overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking The Fowey River.
Lostwithiel bridge beach.
Patio overlooking river
Master bedroom and shower room.
Double bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
Top floor Moroccan twin bedroom with en suite shower room.
Cornish cream tea on the patio
Ground floor sitting room    doors onto patio.
Ground floor sitting room.
Ground floor sitting room.
First floor sitting area.
First floor sitting area.
First floor dining area.
First floor kitchen area.
Master bedroom and shower room
Double bedroom.
Looking over bridge into Lostwithiel
From Patio looking upriver.
Bridge at high tide.
Fowey river outside Brunel Quays.
Lostwithiel's Restormel Castle.
Eden Project 4 miles from house.
Par Beach 4.5 miles from house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
petrina d
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful property.”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

My family stayed in this property at the beginning of august. It really has the wow factor, it is beautifully furnished throughout and very well equipped. The location for us was outstanding as my husband likes to kayak and took full advantage of being so close to the river. You are a 5 minute walk across the bridge away from the many cafes and shops in lostwithiel. We visited the globe inn and found it to be very friendly. We like being able to walk to amenities, so having everything so close is a bonus. There is a large co-op in lostwithiel which takes about 10 minutes to walk to across bridge. A beautiful property that we would love to return to. Only one small negative from my daughter and boyfriend who had the bedroom at front of property was the noise of trains in the mornings (With the heat that had to leave windows open!), but feel this is a small price to pay for such a lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: trains!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Petrina,
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Moorings and thank you for writing a review. It is always positive to hear that guests want to return to the house and I love that you feel it had the wow factor.
Sorry about the train noise , sometimes you are barely aware of them but occasionally people hear them. If you do come again when it is warm I will make sure there are fans in the front bedroom.
Thank you again Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthur638
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An ideal base for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
5
people found this review helpful

This property in Lostwithiel was rented by a friend who is walking the South-West Coastpath. Although it is a little way inland it is on the River Fowey at the tidal limit, and the river flows alongside the property. The complex of which it is a part is a very sympathetic conversion of Brunel's carriage-works keeping the exterior as it was but turning the accommodation into very modern and comfortable units. It is both 5 minutes from the town centre and 2 minutes from the mainline train station. All facilities are high spec and the rooms are light and airy. It has a delightful patio at the back close to the river in a tranquil setting. The property is on three floors so most rooms have a lovely outlook enhanced by the trees along the river. We found it ideal for walking the South Cornwall coast path and it is quite close to the Eden Project and Heligan. Many Cornish towns and Plymouth can be reached with little effort by taking the train.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location but still near the town centre
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
I appreciate your review.
I am delighted The Moorings was a good base for your holiday and commend you for walking the South-West Coastpath - which i have to admit is something i keep saying i will do.I need to stock the house with more local maps.I hope to welcome you back when you walk the next section.
Thank you Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretta F
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home From Home”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is our first visit to Cornwall so very pleased I chose to stay here.
Vivienne's really is a home from home, when we arrived there was a lovely welcome box.
The village is beautiful, people very friendly good variety of shops on doorstep.
The River Fowey is centre of village life wonderful to see children as well as adults enjoying the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Moorings & location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Gretta, Thank you for your review of The Moorings- which you must have written the night before you left! I didn’t realise that this was your first trip to Cornwall and am delighted that you enjoyed your time in this beautiful county ,Lostwithiel and at The Moorings. I hope you decide to return one day. Kind regards Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

House was fantastic. Attention to detail was amazing, absolutely everything you could possibly need and more. House spotlessly clean.
Lostwithiel is a good base as it is in a central position and is a lovely village with plenty of places to eat. Highly recommend 'The Globe' pub, two minute walk and amazing food.
House useful for the station and whilst the trains didn't bother us, possibly could in the summer with windows open and especially if a light sleeper. Being on the river was lovely, can imagine great in the summer as small 'beach' area that would be great for younger children.
Owner was extremely attentive and left thoughtful welcome basket .
Recommend 100%

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. Lostwithiel though small does seem to have a good variety of shops and restaurants. As you mentioned the station is close and so far the reviews of proximity have been positive for transport link rather than negative. Delighted you found the house a good base and i hope to welcome you down on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire b
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday House - Will Return”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week in Lostwithiel. The house is very well equipped with comfortable beds and lovely furnishings. Wifi is superfast and mobile coverage excellent - two critical matters when holidaying with technology savvy children! Having a private parking space right outside the house was another bonus. The town of Lostwithiel is very well provided for in terms of eating out and self catering. There is a butcher, deli and a decent sized coop as well as numerous cafes and restaurants. All in all it is a very easy place to relax and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Claire
Great to hear you and your family had such an enjoyable week at The Moorings and that Lostwithiel ticked so many boxes. Am delighted you may return. Thank you for your review. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H
Welling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its like coming home”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I have been coming to the moorings for 6 years now and will be making it seven with my family in 2016.The house is in a fantastic location to tour all Cornwall,s attractions.
The house itself is beautifully decorated and maintained.
The owner Vivienne has thought of everything, there is nothing missing that you need and the cleaners have the place in a immaculate condition every year. Its like walking into a brand new home every year.
I would personally recommend this property to anybody .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Delighted to report that you now hold the record for annual stays at The Moorings. I do appreciate your kind words above and your allegiance to my Cornish home. Enjoy your2016 stay in Lostwithiel and hopefully for many years to come. Vivienne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly stunning property”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in June 2015 and we couldn't have been happier. The property is beautifully furnished and truly well equipped, there was nothing extra that we needed. With ample bathrooms and a loo on each floor, what more could I say. The bedrooms are well thought out and there was plenty of storage. The beds are to die for, so comfortable, and I am a bad sleeper. It is situated by the railway, but the trains didn't bother us at all. Just a few steps to walk into the village and good public transport links. With the railway on side side of the property and the stunning river view on the other, there is very little passing traffic. Well situated for visiting The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, CharlesTown and the fabulous Mevagissey. We do so hope that we can return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing