We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penrose B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent one night here recently and really enjoyed it. Chris and Heidi have thought of everything you could possible need! The list is almost endless, bathrobes, sweets, hot chocolate, bubble bath, biscuits, extra heaters, books, magazines, DVDs etc. We received a warm and sunny welcome on a very wet and cold day. We will stay there again when we next visit that area

The cost of the room was very reasonable and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We are a young couple and spent last summer with Chris and Heidi during our 'attempt' at surfing! The style of the hotel is very quaint and Awesome.

Will be going back, hopefully this summer.

Location was also very good as it is a good central point to go explore Cornwall.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TomBatchelor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Beautiful building with many stunning original features, decorated to a high standard in keeping with the age and style of the house. Room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely modern en-suite. Lots of nice touches in room, books, cards, corkscrew, plenty of tea/coffee. A very friendly welcome from the owners. Breakfast was very nice, with plenty of choice, served in a lovely dining room. Location is ideal for making he most of the lovely pubs and restaurants in town. Wished I was staying for longer!

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room, one of the most spacious b and b rooms I have ever stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Chris and Heidi are great hosts. Very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely room that was spotlessly clean with a great view. The cooked breakfast was fab. An easy walk into Lostwithiel, Will definitely visit again. Thankyou

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Chris and Heidi are fabulous hosts and they chose us a room that would meet our rather specific needs. They are friendly, accessible and seem always willing to go the extra mile. The room (suite) was fabulous and the breakfast a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare_R_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

have stayed here a few times, and loved it every time. Chris and Heidi are the ultimate hosts, and really go the extra mile to make their residents feel at home... their property is stunning and they have clearly gone to some serious lengths to ensure that each and every room is stunning, and fantastically equipped. parking can be a bit tight, but still plenty for all guests.
superb breakfasts... will definately be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danbays909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
52
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Chris and Heidi deserve top ratings in every department. The rooms are warm and comfy with everything provided for and each with a personal touch. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful and you really feel welcome from the moment you artive. You might even get greeted by the house cat. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
206 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
385 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
311 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose B&B

Address: 1 The Terrace | off Scrations Lane, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Heidi welcome you to Penrose, their beautiful AA 4 stars ratedVictorian home. Penrose exudes a homely atmosphere with a hint of heritage. Fireplaces, chandeliers, cornices and stained-glass windows are evident through-out the building. Be prepared to be spoilt when you book into Penrose B&B as Chris & Heidi pride themselves on hospitality and the kind of finishing touches that make a visit memorable. We have four large versatile double/twin/family ensuite rooms and three spacious double ensuites, plus two of the rooms combine for a family suite with a kitchen. All the bedrooms have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD player, hairdryer, bathrobes, extensive beverage tray, bottled mineral water and toiletries. The ensuites have electric showers plus fresh towels, face cloths, shampoo/conditioner and shower gel. There is free Wifi throughout the house. There is also a little snug come guest lounge. Lostwithiel is the antiques and slow food capital of Cornwall and has many pubs and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The Eden Project is only a 10-minute drive, so are the local beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrose B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing