We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penrose B&B
Nearby Hotels
Royal Oak Inn(Lostwithiel)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Fowey Valley(Lostwithiel)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
261
22
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
22
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschris heididressing gownseden projectmarmaladekipperscooked breakfastbody lotionlovely homelittle touchesbeautiful housecotton woolamazing hostsbottle openerbed and breakfastbiscuitspubs and restaurantsroom was spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Chris and Heidi are excellent hosts. There are a lot of breakfast options, and they have a great system for ordering. They even happened to have soya milk on hand so that I could have it with my coffee. We stayed four nights in the Owl Room, which was quite spacious and had a great view out of the bay window. The Penrose's location is very convenient to town. We walked into town most nights and followed Chris's suggestions for places to eat or have a drink. All were good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD-94-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Found this B & B purely by chance in all honesty on latebookings.com but so glad we did. Nothing too much trouble for either Heidi or Chris - mine hosts. We were in Room 2, so comfy, everything you need is available from Shampoo, Hand Cream, Sewing kit, you name it you've got it. Beds lovely and comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee along with specials such as Herbal Tea and Chocolate. Big Bath Towels along with Bath robes to chill out in. Breakfast made to order on a daily basis and again every need catered for. Car parking is well looked after by Chris - we needed to be away early on the first day we stayed and there he was moving vehicles to enable us to get on our way. Big Big thank you to you both for making us so welcome and making it as if we were at home! We will be back!

Room Tip: No 2 is good and we would certainly book this one again if it were available. Check it out on YouTube!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Its two years since we last visited Penrose and it was still as good as we remembered. Very dog friendly (not just dog tolerant), lovely room with many extras and delicious, hearty breakfast. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our first visit to Penrose following recommendation from family. We had a wonderful four day visit to Cornwall made all the better by the welcome we received from Heidi and Chris.Penrose was cosy and comfortable and everything you could wish for was provided.We liked being able to choose our breakfast in advance so that it was freshly cooked for us and my husband thought the scrambled eggs with salmon were exceptional.We hope to return soon as Lothwithiel was an ideal place to visit both for its own attractions and also as a base for exploring Cornwall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caldicot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We first visited Penrose in Easter 2010 and had a lovely stay. It's literally a 10 minute walk into Lostwithiel where there are plenty of good restaurants/pubs to eat.

We have returned again and again found an excellent and comfortable place to stay while exploring the western part of Cornwall. Chris has a background in hotel management and puts his expertise to good use in running a first class establishment with Heidi. Excellent breakfasts and refreshments laid on in the rooms for the guests. It's also the small touches which demonstrate their attention to customer care eg full range of toiletries in the bathroom; drinks/snacks available for purchase on the landing. With the provision of the Snug on the first floor (guest lounge), Penrose offers it all.
For places of interest you have Heligan, Eden Centre, Lanhydrock plus Fowey, Mevagissy.
I will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickinbracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews