We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Penrose B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice B & B in quiet town.Stayed one night only and wish it had been more.Nothing was too much for the owners.They have thought of everything travelers would want.Breakfast is fantastic with 3 different choices of breakfast.We had the kippers for something different.Owners even called doctors for my wife who had been bothered by heat rash over the past week or so,could not recommend this place enough and hopefully we can come back one day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
176
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

From the moment we booked to stay at the Penrose and received the very informative confirmation email, everything about our stay was simply excellent.
The owners were both there to meet us on arrival, clearly they know how to make guests welcome.
The room was huge and superbly appointed, Heidi thinks of every little detail, it was perfect.
There is plenty of information where to go, eat and visit and everything within a short walk.
Breakfast is wonderful and properly served, so big that we didn't eat lunch the whole time we were there.
The owners of the Penrose B&B should pride themselves on running one of the best places to stay in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After postponing a weekend earlier at Penrose because of illness we have finally spent a memorable weekend in Lostwithiel with Heidi and Chris. The only downer was we didnt stay longer and England lost their first World Cup game. From the moment we arrived everything was taken care of. Our room was comfy, breakfast top notch and our hosts brilliant. With Chris at the Helm you could see that this was a steady ship with a Team who paid attention to detail. We can honestly say it was the best Guest House we have stayed at before and we give credit to Heidi and Chris for Outstanding Service....you made Mandy and I (and the Paps Maggie and Danny) very welcome....thank you we will be returning.

Room Tip: As we had dogs it was convenient having the ground floor accommodation as it was easier taking the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathanedwards88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was the most expensive B&B we stayed in on our travels but wow was it worth it. After a couple of rubbish travelodge rooms before our stay and the a horrid hotel in Newquay after our stay, we realised how lovely this was. We had a beautiful room with chairs overlooking a big window with a view - bliss. E bed was comfy, the hosts were helpful, friendly but not in your face and breakfast was excellent. No bad things to say about our stay - we will use this place again if we need somewhere to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Room 3 had a lovely bed and a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Chris and Heidi are excellent hosts. There are a lot of breakfast options, and they have a great system for ordering. They even happened to have soya milk on hand so that I could have it with my coffee. We stayed four nights in the Owl Room, which was quite spacious and had a great view out of the bay window. The Penrose's location is very convenient to town. We walked into town most nights and followed Chris's suggestions for places to eat or have a drink. All were good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD-94-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Found this B & B purely by chance in all honesty on latebookings.com but so glad we did. Nothing too much trouble for either Heidi or Chris - mine hosts. We were in Room 2, so comfy, everything you need is available from Shampoo, Hand Cream, Sewing kit, you name it you've got it. Beds lovely and comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee along with specials such as Herbal Tea and Chocolate. Big Bath Towels along with Bath robes to chill out in. Breakfast made to order on a daily basis and again every need catered for. Car parking is well looked after by Chris - we needed to be away early on the first day we stayed and there he was moving vehicles to enable us to get on our way. Big Big thank you to you both for making us so welcome and making it as if we were at home! We will be back!

Room Tip: No 2 is good and we would certainly book this one again if it were available. Check it out on YouTu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Its two years since we last visited Penrose and it was still as good as we remembered. Very dog friendly (not just dog tolerant), lovely room with many extras and delicious, hearty breakfast. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose B&B

Property: Penrose B&B
Address: 1 The Terrace | off Scrations Lane, Lostwithiel PL22 0DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Heidi welcome you to Penrose, their beautiful AA 4 stars ratedVictorian home. Penrose exudes a homely atmosphere with a hint of heritage. Fireplaces, chandeliers, cornices and stained-glass windows are evident through-out the building. Be prepared to be spoilt when you book into Penrose B&B as Chris & Heidi pride themselves on hospitality and the kind of finishing touches that make a visit memorable. We have four large versatile double/twin/family ensuite rooms and three spacious double ensuites, plus two of the rooms combine for a family suite with a kitchen. All the bedrooms have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD player, hairdryer, bathrobes, extensive beverage tray, bottled mineral water and toiletries. The ensuites have electric showers plus fresh towels, face cloths, shampoo/conditioner and shower gel. There is free Wifi throughout the house. There is also a little snug come guest lounge. Lostwithiel is the antiques and slow food capital of Cornwall and has many pubs and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The Eden Project is only a 10-minute drive, so are the local beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrose B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing