We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where family holiday memories are made!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tredethick Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Like one of the other contributors we have never gone to the same place twice until we found Tredethick..... This year will be our 4th year. Every year I say this will be our last year and yet back we go. And back we go because it is fantastic. Tim, Jenny and the team have thought of everything to keep families happy and relaxed during their valuable downtime. The cottages are of an exceptional standard and the kids are safe to have fun and make the most of all the attractions. As for the locals in the pool we have always found they very friendly however for the record you frequently have the pool to yourselves.
We are not rich maybe mad but honestly if you want a great value family holiday where everyone comes away with great memories and feeling relaxed then this is the place for you. If you can get in :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Tredethick Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Just visited with children 4 1/2 and 1 year. Was amazed that we were the only family out of the 9 cottages who had not stayed there before - people seem to come back regularly and I can understand why. They do the little things really well + aside of obvious highlights of daily animal feeding and twice weekly pony rides, the soft play, outdoor playground and swimming pool / hot tub are to a very high standard (the play barn also does what it says on the tin). Accommodation is pretty decent but the ability to let the kids scoot around and meet other kids in soft play etc is fantastic. Farmer Tim + team are good people who understand what works for young families + give great advice on local attractions, restaurants etc (there's plenty of good stuff within a 20 minute car journey).

If your kids are aged 10 and under, you can't beat Tredethick. It's not cheap, especially in peak times, but you will have a great time here.

I'd love the Wi-fi to be quicker and for Cornwall to be closer to London to make the journey shorter, but otherwise have no complaints.

Room Tip: The 6 cottages with central courtyard are perhaps best for the kids to mix with each other, but we s...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have never been the sort of people who return year after year to the same place (the world is too big!), but we will be back to Tredethick - in fact we have already booked!

We especially liked the fact that (unlike a lot of places) there is no push to get more money from you once you are here - in fact the farm shop is the only opportunity for you to spend anything on site and that only has basics in it. So the coffee in the play room, the Wi-Fi, the goodies on arrival, the DVDs available to borrow, the pony rides, the children's goodie bags on the last day, etc.... are all thrown in. In that light the quite high initial cost quickly becomes very good value for money.

The on-site facilities and the level of reinvestment are both outstanding. The website does not do them justice. We benefitted from the new outdoor playground (better than almost any I've seen elsewhere), but we were a little too early for the new hot tub (which looks like it will be awesome!). Our two year old daughter would have happily spent all day everyday at Tredethick - especially in the soft play room - and when we did drag her off for excursions she asked to "go back to the farm". Although there are a number of cottages, the layout is well thought out so you never feel packed in or as though you are part of a commercial enterprise.

The other families staying were all lovely, friendly and well behaved - there is certainly a "type" (think family 4x4s, Hunter wellies and children who look like they've stepped out of this season's Boden catalogue!). They all looked out for each other's children and passed on good tips for things to do locally.

To redress some of the (rather bizarre) criticisms on here... Hygiene after animal feeding: each cottage has sinks, soap and towels so we certainly never had a problem washing our daughter's hands afterwards. This is a very sanitised version of a farm - eggs collected by the children are suspiciously clean, our Hunters barely saw any mud and the animals lead a very blessed life indeed! The cottages are not designer chic (if that's what you want, go elsewhere), but they are functional and comfortable and perfect for children (I never worried about anything irreplaceable being broken for example). I am sure that for the same price you could get top notch designer accommodation elsewhere, but you wouldn't get the facilities or the experience that Tredethick
provide. Hot water and heating are both plentiful and ecological and Farmer Tim, Farmer Jenny and assorted family and staff and friendly and cheerful to an extreme.

I can't recommend Tedethick highly enough - although I am somewhat afraid to do so in case it becomes too popular for future bookings....!

Room Tip: All cottages seem lovely and well thought out (have had a nose in a few!). Cottages around the court...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Technophobeblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Tredethick Farm provides the perfect holiday haven for children and therefore for parents as well. We are just back from our second stay at Tredethick and enjoyed it as much as our first visit. We saw our daughter (age 4) grow in confidence as she bottle-fed the lambs and groomed and rode the ponies. The facilities are fantastic with an indoor play barn, indoor sand pit, indoor swimming pool as well as a brand-new outside playground and Farmer Tim is in the process of building an outdoor hot-tub for parents. The cottages are clean and well-equipped (you don't often find sharp knives in the kitchen of a self-catering cottage!) and the beds are comfortable. There are some lovely walks around the farm as well as nearby and, this year, we ventured out and had some great days out to the National Maritime Museum in Falmouth, Padstow and Lanhydrock House. There are beautiful beaches nearby and the Eden Project is only a short drive away. The staff at Tredethick are fantastic with kids and know all their names by day 2, involving them in all the activities. We've already booked for next year and can't recommend Tredethick highly enough to parents with young(-ish) children. Not only will your children have a great time - you will have a great time too!

Room Tip: We have now stayed at the Guildhouse as well as Liddicoat Cottage. The Guildhouse is about 100 metre...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendelien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

After reading some of the reviews for Tredethick, I just had to add to them.
I have never stayed in any of the cottages as I am a local, but I do use the swimming pool facilities. (And we're not "unfriendly")!!!
I thought the remark about bed bugs was cruel and unnecessary. We get biting insects during the summer months in Cornwall, due to the surrounding countryside and farm stock animals, but I know Tim well, and I also know how much care goes into cleanliness and detail, and I know many people return to this beautiful place year after year, which in itself is proof of it's popularity and success.
Tredithick is a working farm, but every care is taken to ensure the safety and enjoyment of it's guests, and I know from talking to those guests that they enjoy their stay, and cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1956cadhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the Guildhouse which is at the end of the drive, next to the main road from Lostwithiel to Lerryn, but don't let that put you off, the cars were not an issue there were so few, especially at night. Lovely house, with conservatory for pram and wellies. We were the only first-time family of all the cottages, so that tells you something!
Animal feeding such a hit, our 2 1/2 year old was nervous at first of the squealing pigs and ran from the barn but by the last day was scratching their backs, not to mention trying to kiss the goats.
Loads to do locally, and with the pool & soft play the weather didn't matter. he was worn out by bed time every day, so we could enjoy a glass of wine and a DVD from the selection to borrow, with some quite up to date titles.

The cottage was nicely furnished but not spectacular, but we have stayed in Lerryn in an 'underfloor heating/White company/wet room/everything john lewis' type property, for about the same price - at tredethick, the cottages are perfectly fine and the premium on other accommodation is for the facilities.
In response to the reviewer below: Our shower was an electric Power shower, but still fine for us. The newsletter we just received tells us some showers are being replaced this winter.
The pool block and soft play are strictly no-shoe areas with boot racks outside so we noticed no mud or anything worse in there; everything was kept very clean.

We've not booked to go back yet, simply because we want our daughter to be walking when we do as I think a crawler will be a bit difficult. We will book again though, despite the 8 hour journey!


Update: have booked again and who cares if she's walking!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Constable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights in Wagonhouse and having just returned home have already booked a return visit. Accommodation is great but the facilities and activities for children (2.5 & 15 months in our case)are outstanding, the animal feeding, pony rides,lovely swimming pool and playbarn , as well as games room for the older children/adults. Location is beautiful as well.We had a great time and farmer Tim and family great hosts. We will recommend to all our friends

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
17.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,202 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
987 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Valley
The Valley
#1 of 4 in Carnon Downs
207 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Park, Cornwall
The Park, Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Mawgan Porth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tredethick Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tredethick Farm Cottages

Address: Lostwithiel PL22 0LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lostwithiel
Hotel Class:4 star — Tredethick Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tredethick Farm Cottages Hotel Lostwithiel
Tredethick Farm Hotel
Tredethick Farm Cottages Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing