We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a great place to stay, in a lovely town. We found the Royal Oak on our last visit to the area, and the staff were so friendly we decided to try staying there this time. Our room, number 2, was large well furnished and decorated. The bed was comfy, and the en suite shower room big enough to hold a party in. It was kept very clean. Breakfast is generous, and cooked freshly for you.
We took our two dogs with us, and they were made very welcome too. Loads of good walks for them close by. We will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments which, as always, we will share with our team.
Lostwithiel is a great base for exploring this part of Cornwall and we are lucky to have good road links and a mainline station within walking distance of our premises.
Room 2 is one of the biggest rooms and it is great to have positive feedback about the way they have been refurbished.
We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

The bedroom was the best we have seen in this price range. The hosts made us feel welcome from the start and the breakfast was to die for. The puppy made our day - will be back soon x

Room Tip: Book in advance - they get booked really quickly so is a good sign!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My partner and I stayed the night at The Royal Oak in May and took our dog who was very much welcomed! The whole place has a lovely atmosphere and very friendly. The food was excellent and could not fault it! We both had the steak and it was cooked to perfection. There was plenty to choose from on the menu, a really good variation of dishes and I had trouble deciding what to have! I had the lemon tart with raspberry sorbet for desert which was really good!!

Our room was huge and had the biggest and most comfortable bed. It was immaculately clean and stylishly decorated with new furniture. The bathroom was spotless also and the shower was nice and powerful.

Breakfast was very good, we both had a full English and there was plenty of it!

The staff were very friendly, especially Simon and Christie (the Managers) who will make you feel very welcome and who are always chatting away to the guests.

The Royal Oak itself is very central in Lostwithial and within walking distance to all the local shops. There are some lovely walks down by the river with stunning views which are not to be missed! Brilliant for walking the dog!

We are already planning our return trip to The Royal Oak and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is such a lovely place and i would recommend it highly! The rooms are of a very high standard and beautifully furnished. We had a bit off a mix up when we first arrived due to an error with the booking but Simon and Cristie were very accommodating and arranged us another room and cut half of our cost of the room for the night that we very much appreciated! The staff are all very lovely and always have a smile on their face which is really welcoming. They'll do anything to help you. Breakfast was to die for with a nice choice of fruit, cereal and a cooked breakfast of your choice. good amenities in Lostwithiel and a nice walk in the evening just to look around. Overall a perfect place to stay in a really quaint area and Simon and Cristie will make wonderful managers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We went here for our first year anniversary. It is a good value and dog friendly pub. The steak was from the local butchers and was very tasty. The chicken breast rissotto was very succulent. Friendly staff and we enjoyed a great spot under the big willow tree in the sun. We are going back to try roast dinner on Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yppik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The royal oak promotes 'dogs welcome' what they mean is the dogs are as welcome as their owners! The Housekeeper keeps the well furnished rooms to a really high standard. We stayed in room 5 - which was perfectly functionable, furnishings were appropriate and in keeping with the building. Breakfast options were good (but we always had full English!). Dinner menu was slightly narrow for my personal tastes but changed daily so we always looked forward to seeing the next edition. Good wine list. Staff and locals were really friendly - we had a really relaxing break - some really lovely places to visit locally with the dog including the dogs beach at Par, Lanhydrock estate walks etc.We couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: Room 5 is over the main door but this did not cause us any problems - one flight of stairs to all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Royal Oak was taken over last year and hence an earlier critical review should be ignored. The restaurant menu is varied and the food is very good. That there has clearly been much improvement suggests that past poor reviews that reflect a previous underperforming management should be removed as they are misleading.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthoncon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. We took over the Royal Oak last year and have worked hard to both refurbish the whole building and restore the reputation of this popular venue - thanks for letting us know that we are getting there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
550 reviews
7.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 9 in St Austell
395 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
707 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Address: 5 Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England (Formerly The Royal Oak)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Inn Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing