We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortless by Eden”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Comfortless by Eden”
Reviewed 26 February 2008

This popular pub in a most attractive town has a nice, if overpriced, restuarant and a noisy bar. The staff were pleasant but in no way pro-active.
Our room was small and without comfort. The double bed looked like an iron sleigh and, with 2" thick pillows it was impossible to sit up without the 'railings' at the back slicing into shoulders and neck. There was one small garden type wicker chair and not sufficient room to fit in the wardrobe and chest of drawers with TV on top. Then there was the bathroom!! There was about 20" between the wall and the bath (with solid shower screen above) to fit the toilet in. This meant that, when seated, you could just about open your knees 2-3" -- think about it!
All this for £75 room B&B. For what we got, I think this was overpriced.
Lostwithiel is lovely and I would certainly like to return and explore it further - but deffinitely not at the Royal Oak!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank junoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    55
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
101
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, middlesex (Heathrow)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Don't be fooled by the old pub facade, the restaurant is well run, efficient and serves excellent food with generous portions - the Chef was excellent about my food allergy (lactose intolerant). There was a dodgy thin mattress on the bed and if my partner turned over he tended to push me out but we're used to a super king size bed. There was a coupleof die-hards who stayed on the smoking terrace until quite early in the morning after closing time but they kept the noise down and were generally considerate of the residents. Our room (No 1) was nicely decorated, clean and the staff were very friendly. The Royal Oak is an excellent base for the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. With a huge breakfast available it is good value for money.

  • Liked — Good chef!!!
  • Disliked — Thin mattress on the bed cause sevre backache
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caddyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Wonderful food service and rooms

  • Liked — food
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chunky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2007

WE arrived shortly after the hotel had a redecoration therefore it was all crisp and clean. I can highly recommend the restaurant and the wonderful local food

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cj46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2006

A very warm welcome and wonderful food and lodging were enjoyed by the whole family.
A great place to stay if youre visiting Eden

  • Liked — size of room s decor
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
481 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
338 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: 5 Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England (Formerly The Royal Oak)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Inn Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing