We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly pub”
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went in for food but they had stopped serving at 3pm. Menu was still on the table and looked very inviting. Will visit again when back down that way, as really want to try the food. Very friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are sorry you missed our food service so do come and see us again. We serve food from11am until 3pm and 6pm until 9.30pm.
We appreciate that you reviewed us favourably on the strength of our friendly staff and being dog and people friendly. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    55
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
102
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The accommodations were good; the atmosphere even better; and, the breakfasts prepared by Lewis were good and personally, pleasantly served. He even prepared a breakfast-to-go so that we could eat it on the train back to London

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you gentlemen .We remember meeting you in the carpark and admiring your retro car.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I know Cristie our manager/chef and Lewis the breakfast chef were very happy to serve you well and found you such appreciative customers.

We do hope you will visit our little inn again as everyone (staff and customers) enjoyed meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great hotel in a small village great for visiting all of south Cornwall. nice pubs in village and a nice village to walk around. room was great ,staff all good,breakfast was good, free parking at hotel. this place is fantastic for a long weekend.good food served at hotel.will return.

Room Tip: don't think they have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to say how much you enjoyed your stay in Lostwithiel and with us in our friendly inn.
We are even more delighted to think you will come again and all the staff will be looking forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We chose the Royal Oak so that we could visit a friend close by, and the reviews looked to fit our needs perfectly.
We were running late for arrival by about 4 hours, and so I called ahead to let them know. We eventually arrived at 8.45pm and were still able to find a parking spot in the car park. A welcome rarity to be able to park easily in Lostwithiel!
We were unsure of check in procedures as there are 2 bars and this obviously doubles up as reception. We were keen to get settled quickly so that we wouldn't miss dinner and have the staff hanging around waiting for us. At check in you are given a pre order form for breakfast. To keep it simple and quick we ticked for 2 full English breakfast.
We were shown to the room and we quickly dumped our bags and coats to head to dinner as they serve until 9pm.
We'd had a bit of a mare travelling to Lostwithiel and were very glad of a very tasty steak washed down with a couple of very well kept pints of Black Sheep ale.
The room we had (room 3) was lovely and comfortable. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bedroom is very tastefully decorated and furnished. The shower room is a good size with an electric shower and pleasant complimentary shower gel, shampoo & moisturiser.
The cooked full English breakfast was of a very good quality and not swimming in grease or anything. I really enjoyed this. I didn't bother with any cereal to start. There's not a lot of choice on this front, and so I was pleased to have such an excellent cooked plate full.
The table next to us had some lovely looking toast brought out to them, and we looked forward to some of the same after our cooked. This never arrived. I wasn't sure whether we should've ticked a box for toast the night before? It was a bit of a rush. Although I'd have thought toast comes as standard when choosing the full English option. We waited for some time for someone to clear the breakfast plates so that we would be offered toast, or indeed we'd ask. No one came. The cleaning lady pottered about polishing and dusting, started vacuuming around us which we found slightly amusing in disbelief, then took away the breakfast cereals and jams. We took that as toast not being on offer and went back to our room.
Sunday carvery lunch was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed a lovely roast sirloin of beef and all the trimmings. The roast potatoes and cauliflower cheese were really tasty.
We booked through the Royal Oak's own website, but it diverts to an intermediate; Eviivo. I always try to use a direct booking rather than an agency. At the time of booking at gave the option for the superior double at £85 B&B. Just the job. There was also the option to pre-pay dinner for an extra £10. This seemed an excellent deal, and would've been if it were honoured. Often I've found that the step up from B&B to a half board tariff if pre paid gives the best deal; an incentive. I was a little put out that firstly the £10 extra wasn't taken into account when presented with a bill for the total food. When I questioned it, all I got was the £10 knocked off the bill. This in effect does not make you pre paying for dinner any better off, and a pointless exercise! It's a bizarre set up, and I was told by the girl (who appears to work all hours under the sun) that she'd never seen that pre paid dinner option before?! But I did book direct from the pub's website.
All in all, the quality of accommodation, and food is excellent. Taking into consideration it's a pub/inn and not a hotel the service was ok, despite a couple of niggles. We were unsure of what exactly to expect. Would we stay again? Yes, as the room comfort and food quality is excellent. I'd also check there's a toast option on the breakfast order form next time!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy-To-Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We appreciate your positive review and your minor niggles will be addressed. It is so helpful to know where we can do better and often it is the small things that can get overlooked. Please accept this reply as an explanation and not an excuse. We learn by feedback from our customers.
Our breakfast tick list states toast but as this may get missed we agree it is better to include it as a standard item with a full English, especially as you and others rate our breakfasts so highly.
We have just begun our winter hours and offers and poor communication on our part means that an offer is passed to Evivo and we have not made all staff aware. You had a premium room which is normally £90 so it seems incongruous that an offer of dinner,b and b should be £85 for 2.
Thank you for pointing this out and we will rectify this mistake.
Sorry about the cleaner hoovering around you .This is just not acceptable and they know this We are so sorry.
As for the lovely girl who works all hours.------you will appreciate we are a small pub and we have gone to winter hours of Band B,then closed until 5pm in the week. It is only Saturday and Sunday we are open all day. The lady you saw was our Cristie who is the chef/deputy manager. Our manager Andy is also head chef so between them they act as the landlord and landlady in our small pub .Weekdays are the quieter times when they have their days off.
All criticism has been taken on board so please come and stay again so we may prove it. We were delighted to think that, on the whole,you had a good one night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here just for the one night recently. Chose this hotel because it had mostly good reviews and it was good value for money. The double room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was pleasant, no complaints here. The breakfast was very nice, cooked really well. I had the veggie option and it was by far the best breakfast I have had in a long time. I would recommend The Royal Oak for a place to stay or a place to dine. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us so positively .Everything you liked about our little pub are the very things we try hard to get right. We are so pleased you felt you were in clean and comfortable surroundings and that the staff were so friendly and polite. We want guests to feel it is home from home so we were grateful you enjoyed our home cooked meals.
We hope you will come to visit us again and if you do, make sure you ask for a premium room which is much larger than our standard double.
Thank you so much and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Looking for lunch on a cold and rainy Sunday we noticed The Royal Oak at Lostwithiel did a Sunday carvery so we dropped in on the off-chance they could fit us in.

The car park is beside the rear entrance, which is handy for someone like myself who is a bit arthritic and cannot walk too far and when we went into the bar, I was instantly taken by the charming and eclectic mix of vernacular styles with rugs, flagstone floors and scrubbed table tops.

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful and it was lucky we were early as I noticed that all the tables in the restaurant and lounge were already reserved.

As a diehard foodie I am often difficult to please as I hate paying for something when I know I could have done better myself but the truth is the food was excellent. The roast beef just melted on the tongue, the cauliflower cheese had a good strong cheese flavour and all the other vegetables were cooked to perfection. And as the desserts were inexplicably free the whole meal was outstanding value at £16 for the two (not including drinks) - a refreshing change from the badly-cooked, over-priced food offered by some establishments.

The Royal Oak is a public house with letting rooms rather than a bona fide hotel or even a restaurant and this fact should be understood by visitors but what it offers in its warm, Cornish hospitality and superb cooking is impressive.

All in all The Royal Oak was a most enjoyable find … we’ll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review and we are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. We understand we " cant please all of the people all of the time" but you are the type of customer who really gets what we are all about. A simple pub with bedrooms that serves home cooked food.
Please do come and visit us again----as the winter draws on we will soon be lighting the wood burners so you will still find a warm welcome from the lovely old building and from all of us of course.
As you enjoy our eclectic mix of styles and pictures you will be interested to know we intend to showcase the work of more local artists during the coming months.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in August and had a pleasant time. Food and staff were lovely! My only disappointment was the size of the rooms as I specifically asked for a large room! But it was very very small for the family (2 adults, a 3 yrs old and a baby). I can only imagine that there was a mistake in the room allocation. To fit, we had to move the double bed around to one side of the room. Also the light in the bedroom did not work so had to make do with a table lamp! The bathroom is also on the small side. There was not much leg room between toilet and bath.

We also never had any issue with parking. There was always a few spaces when we came back.

I would like to stay there again but I will need a guarantee that I will be given a bigger room next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1! Bedroom and bathroom tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennlkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We appreciate how frustrating it must have been for you to be in a double room and not a family room. You are correct in assuming there was a mistake in room allocation--in fact we had you booked as just a couple. If we had not been fully booked we would have moved you at once.
It was heartening to hear you say you would like to return---please book directly with us and ask for a large room.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our food and hospitality and all of us will be pleased to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
486 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
4.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: 5 Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England (Formerly The Royal Oak)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13Th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer traditional pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Inn Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing