We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Fowey Valley(Lostwithiel)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
136
60
17
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
60
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubjelly beansmusselsfull english breakfastclosing timeate herethanks guyssunday carverybeer gardenreasonable sizenice staycooked to perfectionlovely placetoastlovely roomfeel very welcomecomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff were friendly and the food excellent.
The only down side was the room (6). It was a small room with a bathroom that was barely adequate. It was so small we had to go into the bedroom to get dried after a shower.
We were fortunate to have excellent weather. Unfortunately we opened the window to cool down the room but outside the window is the kitchen extractor fan. This was noisy and because the ducting did not go high enough the smell of fried food filled the room.

Room Tip: Try and book a particular room number, I just booked a double room and got room six which is to be avoided at all costs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Delighted that you thought the food excellent and the service good. What a shame you did not tell us you were unhappy with your room ;.if at all possible we try and make our guests satisfied .Obviously with the building being so old the room sizes vary and we would have upgraded you to a superior room at the front if we were not fully booked. They cost just a little more than the standard budget rooms and are at the front of the building.
Make sure to book room 2 or 3 next time you visit to have all the space you prefer.
We hope to see you again and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Typical English pub in very pretty village, nice room, some peeling paint but very clean with good extras (tea/coffee, hairdryer, bottled water), very comfy bed, tasty breakfast (best bacon ever), rattler on draft = nice stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4_Lovely_Ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you "lovely Lady" for recognizing just what we aim to be --a typical Cornish pub. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the food ,all home cooked and bacon locally sourced.
As for the bit of peeling paint--you are right and this is to be fixed after horrendous storm damage which left us with a badly leaking roof. All repaired now thank goodness.
Hope you come again as you know just what to expect from a small country inn and you are just the appreciative guest we love to welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went in for food but they had stopped serving at 3pm. Menu was still on the table and looked very inviting. Will visit again when back down that way, as really want to try the food. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are sorry you missed our food service so do come and see us again. We serve food from11am until 3pm and 6pm until 9.30pm.
We appreciate that you reviewed us favourably on the strength of our friendly staff and being dog and people friendly. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The accommodations were good; the atmosphere even better; and, the breakfasts prepared by Lewis were good and personally, pleasantly served. He even prepared a breakfast-to-go so that we could eat it on the train back to London

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you gentlemen .We remember meeting you in the carpark and admiring your retro car.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I know Cristie our manager/chef and Lewis the breakfast chef were very happy to serve you well and found you such appreciative customers.

We do hope you will visit our little inn again as everyone (staff and customers) enjoyed meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

great hotel in a small village great for visiting all of south Cornwall. nice pubs in village and a nice village to walk around. room was great ,staff all good,breakfast was good, free parking at hotel. this place is fantastic for a long weekend.good food served at hotel.will return.

Room Tip: don't think they have a bad room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky c, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to say how much you enjoyed your stay in Lostwithiel and with us in our friendly inn.
We are even more delighted to think you will come again and all the staff will be looking forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews