We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
149
64
17
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
64
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub jelly beans full english breakfast mash great atmosphere beer garden sunday carvery car parking reasonable size cooked to perfection feel very welcome comfy bed lovely place toast lovely room biscuits last minute booking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends after a brief stay last year. Again, highly pleased with the stay overall. The bedrooms were spacious and exceptionally clean, the food was delicious (would highly recommend the steak & ale pie! ) and the portion sizes were great value for money! We were impressed to see that other visitors dogs were well catered for; there were dog treats on hand and fresh water bowls around. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and always smiling, nothing was too much to ask! The managers were helpful and had great knowledge of the local area. Evening entertainment was fantastic, great atmosphere and a real laugh! Would definitely recommend this B&B and will definitely stay there again! Thank you to all of the staff at the Royal Oak for all that you done for us!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DaniiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for a long weekend, whilst in the area visiting friends.
Staying here just made our trip! The managers especially were amazing, and couldn't do enough for us!
They even ensured my awkward dietary requirements were met, and the food was delicious, fresh and locally sourced! I would highly recommend the steak and ale pie
And the portion size for the price is brilliant!
The rooms were lovely and spacious, really clean and homely too, and the views are beautiful!
Thank you so much everyone!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jemima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Once again a wonderful week at the Oak, the owners never disappoint with the hospitality and efficiency of the staff and cleanliness of the establishment, as always we were felt to be welcomed to a real community of lovely people

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JeffbM3722TU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were just passing through and booked in for a one night stay. The ambience and welcome were such that we stayed for an extra night. My wife worked in Further Education as a lecturer in Catering and Hospitality for over 20 years and the staff here were better than she has met up to now. The owners were away, but they need not worry. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the food excellent. Sarah reminded us of Radar out of Mash.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JohnCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Very helpful owners. Had to cancel due to accident, no charge made for changing dates even though gave less than 24hrs notice. Bed very comfortable. Having read the menu, looking forward to dinner tonight!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 35dianet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews