We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B”
Review of Polmena House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polmena House B&B
Ranked #8 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B and B”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First class B and B with lovely views. Very quiet. A very warm welcome from the owners Charlayne and David. A little bit out of the village, but David drove us to to pub/restaurant every evening and collected us after our meal. This was certainly above the call of duty !
We would highly recommend this B and B.
Val and Lesley

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden-Gems, Owner at Polmena House B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your high recommendation which is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the 'transport' worked well! and that you found a good variety of excellent eating places in Lostwithiel Town. We enjoyed your visit very much and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My Wife and I spent 3 wonderful Days in Lostwithiel, Cornwall and our hosts (David & Charlayne Platt) made our stay a very memorable one, and we will definitely be going back to stay with them again. Polmena House is the perfect base for exploring Cornwall, and there are some wonderful little Villages right on the doorstep such as St Winnow's Church where some of the series of Poldark was filmed, and Lerryn on the River Fowey.
The larger Towns of St. Austell and Padstow are also within easy reach, and we had a wonderful meal at Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant in Padstow while we were there.
All in all it was probably our favourite short break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden-Gems, Owner at Polmena House B&B, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay & discovered so much that the locality has to offer which make this part of Cornwall so special! The kind weather also helped!

You will be warmly welcomed back when you are ready for your next Cornish "fix"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed here for a week, great location, wonderful room and bathroom, breakfasts excellant and nothing was too much trouble from information on where to eat and best places to park to making you feel at home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We made the right choice by staying at Polmena House with our hosts Charlayne & David for our May bank holiday break. After an easy less than 4 hours Motorway (more or less) journey from near Reading, we were enjoying the delights of our Home from Home! Everything was perfect, what with the 5 star accommodation & delicious home-cooked & locally sourced breakfasts (not a good idea to measure your waist-line!). The location is stunning with our room overlooking the enchanting Fowey River in the valley below & Restormel Castle if you look the other way. Ideal wooded walks are on the doorstep which lead to stunning villages such as Lerryn(?) with its famous stepping stones & an inviting pub for a welcome lunch-time stop. The Eden Project,stunning safe beaches, St. Austell Brewery (it's Tribute beer is a very tasty thirst-quencher) - all are within a short drive away. Throw in a delicious 'CORNISH' pasty, some local clotted-cream + POLMENA HOUSE & you'll enjoy a 10/10 experience like us! We'll be back...............

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had a fantastic Spring 2013 weekend break at Polmena House. Charlayne made us very welcome & was a charming host, as well as providing us with lots of local tips and recommendations. We had a lovely large comfortable room (The Balcony) with super views over the valley. Breakfast was freshly cooked & absolutely delicious - nothing was too much trouble. Lostwithiel is an interesting town with lots of nice restaurants & pubs, plus is ideally located for visiting other Cornish gems such as Fowey and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. We thoroughly recommend a stay at Polmena, & definitely plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellecat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden-Gems, Owner at Polmena House B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Just to say we were very pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable weekend with us at Polmena House B&B earlier this Spring . Thank you very much for your review and recommendation which was much appreciated and I am sure will be helpful to future visitors to Lostwithiel. Lostwithiel is a lovely ancient town on the River Fowey and as you mentioned has lots of excellent pubs and restaurants to choose from. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Polmena House August bank holiday weekend, it was a very warm welcome we had on arrival, especially after driving all day. The room we had was large and very comfortable with great views across the valley. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and we will plan to visit again sometime in the future. Well done and thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Balcony Room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fetcham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We visited Polmena House in June 2012. Charlayne is a charming and welcoming hostess. Our room was large and very comfortable, with beautiful views over the valley.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Lostwitheil is a lovely town and a great base for day trips to Tintagel and Padstow or the Lost Gardens of Heligan and Fowey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Balcony Room - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hidden-Gems, Owner at Polmena House B&B, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post a review about your stay with us in June. Your comments were much appreciated and I am sure will be of great help to us. Polmena House, Lostwithiel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lostwithiel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
197 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
278 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Lerryn
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmena House B&B

Property: Polmena House B&B
Address: Polmena House Polmena Lane, Lostwithiel PL22 0LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polmena House B&B offers guests spacious and comfortable ensuite B&B accommodation in a peaceful location with stunning river & countryside views, a mile from the beautiful medieval town of Lostwithiel. Ideally located for the Eden Project and Heligan Gardens. Super-king & king double or twin ensuite accommodation, one with its own lounge & balcony, all rooms have river valley or countryside views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Polmena House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polmena House B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing