We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our number one Cornish B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Polmena House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polmena House B&B
Ranked #8 of 13 Lostwithiel B&B and Inns
West Sussex
1 review
“Our number one Cornish B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Polmena House is our first choice of B&B whenever we visit Cornwall. Charlayne and David make us very welcome and we always feel we are amongst friends.
In a beautiful setting with views towards the River Fowey, the accommodation is spacious and comfortable. Charlayne provides an excellent breakfast, using local produce wherever possible.
Situated up a quiet lane with on-site parking, Polmena House is conveniently situated for the many attractions of mid Cornwall and is within a few minutes' drive of Lostwithiel with its excellent pubs and restaurants.
We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowLassWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

Picked at random off the internet, we had a wonderfull time with a warm and friendly reception.

This is a small B&B but the rooms are generous with full size en-suite bathrooms.

Polmena is build on a steep Cornish slope and so inevitably the steps and paths are not suitable for people with restricted mobility. A wheelchair would be impossible.

The Eden Project and both coasts of Cornwall are all within easy reach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

We have just returned from Polmena after our 3rd visit.
We love this Bed & Breakfast. Charlayne & David are fantastic hosts. We feel our stay is like home from home.
They both go that 'extra mile' to ensure your comfort & are happy to help in any situation.
The location is lovely, you can see down the valley to the river Fowey.
It is the perfect location for visiting many different attractions around the area.
The local restaurants/pubs are also very welcoming & of a very high standard.
We would recommend anyone wishing to have a relaxing break to try this wonderful little gem in Lostwithiel.

  • Liked — Comfort & Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2007

We are now booked in for the third year running to this great B&B. Always really good to stay here. Excellant location and wonderful views, really peaceful and relaxing.
Charlayne and David are always so helpful and understanding when we leave Race cars on their driveway!!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Earl of Chatham Inn
Earl of Chatham Inn
#6 of 13 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#4 of 13 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmena House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmena House B&B

Property: Polmena House B&B
Address: Polmena House Polmena Lane, Lostwithiel PL22 0LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polmena House B&B offers guests spacious and comfortable ensuite B&B accommodation in a peaceful location with stunning river & countryside views, a mile from the beautiful medieval town of Lostwithiel. Ideally located for the Eden Project and Heligan Gardens. Super-king & king double or twin ensuite accommodation, one with its own lounge & balcony, all rooms have river valley or countryside views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polmena House B&B Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing