We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, friendly owner, perfect location!”
Review of Peregrine Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lostwithiel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peregrine Hall
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, friendly owner, perfect location!”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Wanted a short stay away in cornwall for a few days. It was so handy being able to book for a couple of nights whenever and on whatever day we wanted. Originaly booked 2 nights, but on arrival fell in love with the place and booked an extra night. The hall is lovely, the grounds are vast and beautiful, with great views. We stayed in "Little Peregrine" which was cosy with everything u would need. The only thing is that when the owner explained that the bathroom was small, he wasnt lying. Its tiny, but we managed ok. Altho if a larger person was staying there they would find problems getting to the sink. Also the twin room is small too, but the double room is lovely with ample room. There is a games room that u can book for up to an hour and it gives u private access to the snooker table, table tennis, darts, table football. Also there is a hot tub and sauna that u can use.
The location is ideal for visiting The Eden project, only 15mins away. Lostwithiel itself is cute and there are several takeaways and pubs to eat out at.
I would definately return here again .

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Peregrine Hall can be found in the charming town of Lostwithiel in Cornwall. The hall is sub-divided into holiday accommodation and we stayed in Wing Cottage. Derek, the owner, is very friendly and we found the accommodation to be spacious, very well equipped and clean - we couldn't have asked for more. There were on-site laundry facilities which is a real bonus with young children. They also provided a cot and highchair, both clean and modern. Lostwithiel is ideally placed to visit all of Cornwall's attractions. Swimming pool was a bit chilly but that is the only negative thing I can think of! We definitely would return and i'm fussy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed for a week in April 2009. The acommodation is a self contained part of an old hall and was very comfortable and homely. Little touches like the tea and sugar and the the books etc. make a difference and make these places less impersonal. the location is good and the Hall is handy for most of the "must see" things in the area. We have no criticisms and would most definately stay again and also recommend it to others. A real "find"

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JURNEYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Peregrine Hall is an absolutely wonderful B&B set in some lovely English countryside with splendid gardens and views.

This review is somewhat overdue as we stayed there for a 3 night short-break back in July 2007. We are early retired and travel quite a bit (see our TripAdvisor profile) – a poor excuse really for the tardiness.

Peregrine Hall has a web site www.peregrinehall.com which we found accurate & very useful.

We stayed in the Gable End suite. The room was spotless and had absolutely everything we needed (and more, like the kitchenette, which we didn’t need as we ate out all the time). Breakfasts were superb with plenty of choice. Derek and Dianne were the perfect hosts throughout our stay.

There is no need to use the car in the evenings; it’s a stroll down to the town (ask Derek for the short cut through the grounds) where there are plenty of pubs for a good meal & without the car enjoy a beer or two. We ate in The Globe, The Royal Oak and the Earl of Chatham.

There is plenty to do in the area like the Eden Project, National Trust properties and the fabulous coast.

Peregrine Hall is highly recommended by us, if we are in that area again it will be the first place we book.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

This is a real gem of a place. The welcome is warm and friendly, grounds are beautiful, games room is fully stocked with snooker, darts, sauna, Jacuzzi, table football, wooden pin ball and table tennis. Rose Cottage is snug but big enough and is beautifully arranged. The place was clean and tidy, there were lovely touches such as a proper tea pot and cups in the cottage, books and a beautiful full length window. Usual amenities in the cottage such as TV and the ensuite was clean and functional. Couldn’t use the swimming pool or BBQ area because weather was poor but I’m sure it’s just as lovely as the rest of this accommodation. Breakfast was generous with plenty of choice of fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast and toast. I’ll definitely look to visit here again specifically to stay at this place! The Globe Inn down the road served a great dinner – even for a vegetarian!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — That we didn't stay here longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We stayed at Peregrine Hall during April 2008.

The Hall is located in a very beautiful, peaceful and tranquil setting.

It is well positioned for visitors to the ‘Eden Project’ and for other local attractions
( .. for example the National Trust property Lanhydrock is close by and well worth a visit ).

Guests are welcomed during their stay by Diane & Derek who were able to provide valuable information about the local area.

We stayed in ‘Little Peregrine’ cottage, which was both comfortable and warm.

The cottages are geared up for ‘Self Catering’, however if you do as we did and choose to stay on a bed and breakfast deal – the breakfasts are generous and will certainly set you up well for the day !

We will certainly be returning and would imagine that the gardens would be delightful in either May or June.

  • Liked — The flexibility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P&P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Great B & B, located 5 minuted drive outside of the small town of Lostwithiel, situated in old country manor house that has been extended over the years to form self-catering cottages and 3 B & B rooms. The double rooms, all on the first floor, were a good size and had great en-suite bathrooms that looked recently renovated. The grounds of the house were extensive and well looked after and included a small swimming pool and several picnic tables and benches dotted around to make use of. The grounds look out over the valley and down towards the town of Lostwithiel. The breakfast was very good with a briad selection of fruits, yoghurts, creeals as well as a cooked breakfast and toast. My favourite part of our stay was walking around the grounds before breakfast and enjoying the wonderful views and the stillness before the bustle of the day took over. I would love to return again.

Helpful?
2 Thank LMC_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lostwithiel hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 13 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 13 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Earl of Chatham Inn
Earl of Chatham Inn
#6 of 13 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peregrine Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peregrine Hall

Property: Peregrine Hall
Address: Polscoe Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lostwithiel
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peregrine Hall is an historic property set in 10 acres of gardens & grounds with superb views over Lostwithiel, The Fowey Valley & Restormel Castle. We have a few cottages around the property offering a relaxed stay but in a central Cornish location making it an excellent location for exploring Cornwall. Only a 10 minute walk into Lostwithiel where there is a number of pubs, award winning restaurants, shops and a good size supermarket. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peregrine Hall Lostwithiel, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing