We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea on arrival”
Review of Hen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manaccan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Manaccan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at the Hen House for two nights in July 2011.
The welcome was lovely with tea and home-baked cake just as soon as we liked. Terrific after a long car journey.
The reviews on this site are all accurate, with Gary and Sandy taking time to chat with us, lending us a local ordnance survey map and making pub and trip recommendations. We were visiting Cornwall for the RNAS Culdsrose AirDay - which was actually a bit damp this year - but the Hen House warm reception and comfort more than made up for the weather.
There is free Wi-Fi internet available
Thank you guys.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnackeredSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Hen House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were given such a lovely warm welcome from Sandy & Gary that we knew we were going to enjoy our stay and we were right. The breakfast is as good as described by other reviewers on here. The bed was so comfortable with a top quality 1000 pocket sprung mattress and crisp 100% cotton bedlinen that it was like climbing onto a cloud to sleep. Follow all of Sandy & Gary's recommendations for restaurants and beaches; we did and every one was great. Our puppy Oscar was inseparable from our hosts' retriever Morgan and he was so happy exploring the wildflower meadow every day. It was great not to have to stress about a single thing and every local establishment welcomed us and our puppy warmly. The food in this area is fantastic, so we quickly abandoned any ideas of travelling further afield and stayed on the Lizard. We were so happy with our week in the barn that we are already pencilled in for another stay this coming September.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Our hosts Garry and Sandy could not have been more welcoming and Morgan their dog soon showed are dog Ruthie around.The room was great with lots of room and a very spacious on suite with every thing you could want for your stay.
The breakfast is amazing with wide choice to choose from, you wont need to have lunch! At night the stars shine so bright and it is so quiet and you are woken in the morning by the morning chorus.
As to eating out there are lots of excellent places to eat and your hosts will tell you all about them,we were very boring and went to the Five Pilchards each night (a proper pub).
So if you want a holiday to forget all your troubles in an idyllic place with lovely host and great food plus you can take your dog and learn Tai Chi look no further.

Chris and Lynn Lavis

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIZYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Hen House is a lovely dog-friendly B & B which is more than your average B&B. We were given a warm welcome by Sandy & Gary who have worked hard to make their home eco-friendly & sustainable with new solar panels which gave us unlimited very hot water. The room was large, comfortable and clean and there was nothing we were left wanting for. The breakfasts were superb, beautifully cooked to order and we hardly needed lunch. It is a real retreat with fun Tai Chi classes before breakfast in the meadow if you desired, while our dogs roamed happily around us . Our hosts gave us ample information about the local area and were very informative and helpful, lending books and maps. The Hen House is tucked away down a narrow lane with beautiful views over the fields to the sea, it is so peaceful you can't fail to recharge your batteries here.
We explored The Lizard and sailed on the Helford river, walked along Frenchman's Creek and visited art galleries, ate cream teas and had delicious meals in pubs by the sea where all the locals were so friendly and welcoming, especially to our two dogs.
It is the sort of place that leaves you thinking you want to throw up your old life and move to Cornwall for a better quality of life.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriamossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

What a lovely find... We had three nights at Sandy and Garys lovely B&B with our big hairy dog Bruno... Nothing was to much trouble, Morgan was a laid back golden retreiver that showed Bruno around and shared his rugby ball with a laid back ease. Both Gary and Sandy did breakfast for us, with a divine home made dried fruit compot to start the day, followed by BIG breakfast!! the only problem I found was then trying to fit in cream tea later in the day when out and about!
Really comfy rooms, and bed, lovely grounds, and easy to get up and walk the surrounding lanes with Bruno for that early morning leg stretch.

Room Tip: Off the beaten track, so follow the directions
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were lucky enough to stay at the Hen House during a spell of glorious weather which made the idyllic surroundings even more beautiful. The B & B itself was luxurious and comfortable but yet it still retained a rural charm.

The hospitality we received on our stay was absolutely first rate, we were made to feel welcome from the very beginning and the 3 course breakfast each morning kept us going well beyond lunch time. We also very much enjoyed the complimentary Thai Chi each morning in the wild flower meadow.

The surrounding area, with it's various gardens, attractions and stunning coastal walks, provided more than enough entertainment to fill our stay and we left feeling fulfilled and refreshed.

I would thoroughly recommend the Hen House to anyone who wants a relaxing retreat in beautiful rural surroundings and I very much suspect we shall be returning some time in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumbleBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I have just spent four wonderful nights at the Hen House and could not recommend it more highly. The hosts, Gary and Sandy, know everything you could possible need to know about the area; such as best cream teas, hot chocolates, walks, pubs...

It is very dog friendly. The B&B room was extremely comfortable with large shower and bath, television and DVD, books, information on local places to visit. Even fresh flowers for the visit.

From their meadow you get a wonderful panorama of the stars on a clear night, with not a sound to be heard apart from the local wildlife. You are woken to the sound of numerous different birds in the morning, and then have the most amazing home cooked breakfast served on local Cornish crockery. The Lizard Peninsula is excellent for beautiful coastal walks, good food, peace and quiet and a good rest.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona_willsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manaccan
7.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
602 reviews
3.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
4.7 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen House

Address: Hen House Tregarne Farm Tregarne, Manaccan TR12 6EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Manaccan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manaccan
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small B&B with a Self-catering barn for 2 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hen House Manaccan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing