We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Hen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manaccan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Manaccan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just spent two nights at The Hen House which is situated in a very idyllic, rural and quiet location. Heaven!

Our room 'Puno' was very comfortable, very clean and spacious. We also had a fridge in the room which was a nice surprise and very handy! The bed was exceptionally comfortable, I had the best nights sleep since I can remember.

A lovely place to relax and unwind! Just what was needed! You cant help but take in deep breaths to appreciate the healthy air and environment!

Sandy, Gary and the very cute and friendly Monza, as hosts made our stay what it was. They are lovely and a font of all knowledge and will provide you with ample walks and maps and places to visit and things to do!

The breakfast's are gorgeous, very tasty and set you up for the day! Can recommend the compote & yoghurt first to get your taste buds going! The homemade Lemon & Marrow (hope i've remembered that right!) jam on toast rounded the already big breakfast off nicely!

We walked to the pub, which is an easy 20 minute walk down through the lanes but be prepared for a bit more hard work coming back up!! (but doable!)

It was so lovely we are returning in July!! A lovely little find and cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

This B&B was everything we hoped for. A quiet location, friendly welcome, a spacious room and a large bathroom as well. The garden is beautiful. The dog is your friend for life. Local foods make most of the breakfast, with flavorful results. We were there for only one night while walking the Coastal Trail. It turns out that we could have spent the week, as Sandy and Gary offer to drive and pick up their guests anywhere along the Coastal trail in Lizard Head. Had we known!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I don't want to tell you anything about the hen house, I don't want to let you know about this perfect blend of hospitality, tranquility, and beauty that our hosts Gary, Sandy and Monza (the Golden Retriever)kindly shared with us. We found exactly what we needed and that was only because someone else who didn't want to share the secret of the hen house and how welcoming Gary, Sandy and Monza are! The place itself is stunning.... the breakfast leaves you full for the day.... cereals, a full Cornish, or fish platter or continental platter followed up with home-made bread and home-made jams and excellent advice for exploring the Lizard peninsular and beyond. Go and discover for yourself the hen house, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is my fourth attempt at writing a review for the Hen House, I am struggling to explain how much I loved this place. We wanted a few days away, with our 2 Labradoodles to relax and unwind and this is exactly what we got. Sandy and Gary could not be more welcoming, to us as well as our dogs. The dogs had free run of the beautiful court yard, gardens and meadow all of which are safely fenced so we had no worries that our guys would escape. The setting is amazing and very peaceful, I even saw my first ever shooting star! You have a choice of breakfasts, which are huge. We ate breakfast and didn't need to eat again until the evening. Sandy and Gary were amazingly helpful, they suggested great places to go, lovely dog friendly restaurants and fantastic walks with the dogs, our 2 have come home exhausted which isn't easy. I was worried that dog friendly would mean basic, believe me it doesn't. Our room was large, airy, superbly comfortable and spotlessly clean. I would not change a thing about the Hen House. Gary and Sandy have opened up their home and created a perfect retreat with or without dogs. We are already planning to go back soon. We need to see how big the gorgeous Monza (Golden Retriever puppy) has grown.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Even though we live in a lovely part of Cornwall, it was great to find somewhere so welcoming and relaxing for a mini break just a short distance away. Fabulous location - even in winter, great food, great service and adorable new puppy to admire. Felt a little guilty we didn't bring our dogs. Maybe next time.
Ethna and Mark (St Agnes)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just spent a wonderful two days at the Hen House. As usual Gary and Sandy make you very welcome and nothing is too much. Greeted with a lovely cup of tea and home made cake and given help to find a nice walk for us and the dogs. Would recommend the Hen House to anyone who wants to be looked after and likes the peace and quiet of this lovely part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just returned from the most fantastic three night stay at the Hen House. I can only s reiterate what other guestslhave said in their reviews. Sandy and Gary are the most thoughtful, considerate hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Some examples of this: tea and cakes on arrival; lending us an OS map of the area and taking the time to explain everything there is to see and do; regular replenishment of the milk jug for teas/coffee; the stopping to talk to us whenthey clearly had things to do; the free tai-chi classes etc.
The surroundings are tranquil and beautiful and the rooms spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfasst is delightful, copious and of the best quality (I loved the fresh fish oy lanesption).
Gary and Sandy have clearly worked very hard to get where they are and full marks to them for their emphasis on eco-frienliness and sustainability. They have put so much thought into the whole operation (hoses for washing down dogs, poop scoops, the central communal lawn area, torches for navigating dark country lanes etc). We had a great time and would not hesitate to recommend the Hen House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plymsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manaccan
3.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
701 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 7 in St Keverne
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen House

Address: Hen House Tregarne Farm Tregarne, Manaccan TR12 6EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Manaccan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manaccan
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small B&B with a Self-catering barn for 2 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hen House Manaccan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing