We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Escape”
Review of Hen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manaccan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Manaccan B&B and Inns
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cornish Escape”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I with are Springer Spaniel stayed at the Hen House for 5 nights last week. We wondered where the instructions were taking us too, but it was worth the wait. The Hen House is situated in a lovely little hamlet with the sea no more than a 20 minute stroll away.
The atmosphere at the Hen House was really laid back and as someone holidaying with their dog there was no list of 'rules' that you often find in dog friendly accommodation.
We were made to feel like a memeber of the family and spent a couple of evenings sat chatting in the garden with homemade wine and cider!
Fabulous breakfast, homemade jams etc.
We would definately recommend whether you have a dog or not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlkhamView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Hen House was a wonderful find, a totally relaxing few days in a beautifully tranquil setting. Sandy and Gary were perfect hosts with so many recommendations. Three days were just not enough and we plan to go back, if for nothing more than the fabulous Cornish Breakfast !!!. So much to do and the night sky is truly magical. And we must not forget the real host MONZA the retriever what a gent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBunnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Visited earlier this month with my mother who was working in the area for the day. Booked to stay for one night mid week, but wish we had booked for longer. A really lovely place to stay. The owners were great, dog gorgeous, room cosy and very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious! We will definately be returning soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hognaston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Sandy and Gary have created something utterly wonderful at The Hen House and I urge anyone who values peace, beauty and great company (humans as well as dogs) to make a visit. My wife Barbara and I have just enjoyed a magical holiday at the Hen House. We were made so welcome by Sandy and Gary who catered for our needs splendidly and were obviously keen to share this piece of paradise with us. They are very knowledgeable about the area and gave us very good advice on cool walks, fabulous cycle rides, the best places to swim and great places to eat. In fact, there is so much that is beautiful to see and enjoy that we have already booked a fortnight there next year. Can't wait to go back; the relaxing and energising Tai Chi, the delicious breakfasts, the company of friendly dogs(Monza the resident and visitors: Pip, Meg, Zep, Seal and Lanceolot) and like-minded people. A very special place. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very reluctant, like a previous reviewer, to share this. First time of taking a holiday with our Rough Collie Megs and we certainly hit the jackpot. An absolutely perfect place to stay - Meggie was made so very welcome and had a great time chasing around with Sandy and Gary's lovely retriever Monza. A totally safe environment for dogs and a perfectly tranquil place for humans. Breakfast was superb and enjoyed after early morning tai chi for my husband whilst I enjoyed a leisurely shower in the large en-suite shower room. I am a vegetarian whilst the other half eats fish but no meat but we were very well catered for. The weather was great whilst we were there so we were able to relax in the courtyard garden with no pressure to move off. Lovely quiet area to explore and the owners are very helpful in recommending places to visit and places to eat. Only arrived home yesterday but I want to go back soon! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnLaramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a short weeks break with our dog Lilly, a place with great walks and lots of peace and tranquility. Well we hit the jackpot here...what a wonderful, down to earth, grass roots place to stay and relax.
I am reluctant writing this as I don't want to share this place with others, but on the other hand, feel we would be do our wonderful hosts a dis-service.
We were made at home on arrival, with a pot of tea in the garden followed by a complete run down on the area from our hosts, Sandy even gave us top tips on places to eat locally. Everything about the henhouse is dog friendly and we as a family will be regulars!! Having already booked the next break. Please note this location is all about peace, nature, walking and finding yourself again, it is not suited to young families or those looking for the nightlife...however the five pilchards in porthallow does a brilliant selection of ales and top class food and you earn it with a brisk 2 mile walk up and down hilltops to get there and the back:-) plus a good war story with some of the local characters on a Thursday evening.
To note I really love this place, you won't be disappointed :-) the henhouse is a must for those after peace and tranquility.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On the face of it, being allocated the "old pig shed" doesn't sound a great option, however, once you enter the accommodation you find a pleasantly appointed bedroom/en suite, the crowning glory of which is the "Velux" roof light, allowing you to lie in bed and watch the stars and satellites, in a big sky, without the light pollution usually found in big cities. We could not have been made more welcome by our hosts, Sandy and Gary, along with Monza the "Chicken Herding" Golden Retriever. For those wishing for total peace and quiet this accommodation cannot be more highly praised.

After a great night's sleep, you will be totally set up for the day with a beautifully, freshly cooked large breakfast, meaning you will not need to eat again until your evening meal. Those more adventurous may enjoy a free session of Tchai in the field, weather permitting before breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manaccan
2.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
4.9 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
243 reviews
3.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.7 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
67 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#4 of 12 in The Lizard
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen House

Property: Hen House
Address: Hen House Tregarne Farm Tregarne, Manaccan TR12 6EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Manaccan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manaccan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small B&B with a Self-catering barn for 2 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hen House Manaccan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing