We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manaccan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Manaccan B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at the Hen House in August 2014! Sandy, Gary and Monza are fantastic hosts and made us feel every bit welcome. The breakfasts are fantastic with fresh and locally sourced ingredients. We stayed in the Puno suite which has the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! Large room and huge bathroom, extremely spacious apartment with lovely decor. Fantastic location for a quiet break away - local pub only 20 minutes walk away (take a torch and map if you're coming back late!) Lizard Point was our favourite visit on the trip - absolutely breathtaking and only a short distance in the car. Plenty to do over the four days we were there but would recommend you spend your time relaxing and taking your time rather than rushing an itinerary. The grounds, garden and courtyard are absolutely beautiful and the hot tub is amazing! We spent a late afternoon drinking a few beers in the hot tub whilst staring out at the meadow. A true slice of heaven - would definitely return for a second visit! Already missing the Cornish lifestyle!

Room Tip: Puno is a great apartment with lots of space and an extremely comfortable bed! A fridge/freezer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A last minute frantic visit to Cornwall left us searching for places to stay, never easy with a dog as part of the family but at last I found the Hen House and a booking was made for four nights.
After a somewhat magical mystery tour thanks to our sat nav, we arrived at this haven of peace greeted by Sarah and Gary (and friendly Monza the dog) with tea and homemade cake which we ate seated in the pretty garden.
Clean, comfortable and with the lovely countryside surroundings, breakfasts to die for that will fill you up way past lunchtime with everything freshly cooked what more could you ask for.
A walk to the local pub at Porthallow down quiet lanes is a nice way to unwind, just remember to take a torch which will be provided if asked as no lights in lanes, which after a couple of beers can be quite amusing.
This is a lovely rural place to unwind away from everyday hassle, a taste of what holidays should be about, relaxing and a little bit magical.
Tip: Directions are sent read them do not rely on Sat Nav unless it is up to date, very small lanes so no speeding, but well worth the drive.
Would I visit again..oh yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Labrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just come back from staying in the hen house for a week self catering. Everything u needed was there including a very friendly dog who got on very well with our 2 springers. The place had a relaxed atmosphere about it and the owners couldn't do enough for us. We went out and about some days but never far as there is plenty to see within a half hr drive. Our personal favourite was a long walk around the helford river area including manaccon where we stopped off for lunch in the lovely south cafe. Most evenings we walked down to the local pub for a couple of drinks and very good food. I would heartily recommend this place if what you want is peace and quiet, real comfort and a good natter if you so want

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tillysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Enjoyed a couple of nights staying here. Very peaceful spot, 30 mins walk from the sea in one of the less busy parts of The Lizard. Very welcoming and helpful hosts. An array of accommodation around a lawn. Lots of nice touches in the grounds - a wildflower meadow, peaceful places to sit, etc. Decent breakfast, around a shared table - so quite up close with the other guests.
We felt comfortable. Cyclist friendly!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcusWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I with are Springer Spaniel stayed at the Hen House for 5 nights last week. We wondered where the instructions were taking us too, but it was worth the wait. The Hen House is situated in a lovely little hamlet with the sea no more than a 20 minute stroll away.
The atmosphere at the Hen House was really laid back and as someone holidaying with their dog there was no list of 'rules' that you often find in dog friendly accommodation.
We were made to feel like a memeber of the family and spent a couple of evenings sat chatting in the garden with homemade wine and cider!
Fabulous breakfast, homemade jams etc.
We would definately recommend whether you have a dog or not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlkhamView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Hen House was a wonderful find, a totally relaxing few days in a beautifully tranquil setting. Sandy and Gary were perfect hosts with so many recommendations. Three days were just not enough and we plan to go back, if for nothing more than the fabulous Cornish Breakfast !!!. So much to do and the night sky is truly magical. And we must not forget the real host MONZA the retriever what a gent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBunnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Visited earlier this month with my mother who was working in the area for the day. Booked to stay for one night mid week, but wish we had booked for longer. A really lovely place to stay. The owners were great, dog gorgeous, room cosy and very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious! We will definately be returning soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manaccan
3.2 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.7 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
7.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen House

Property: Hen House
Address: Hen House Tregarne Farm Tregarne, Manaccan TR12 6EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Manaccan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manaccan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small B&B with a Self-catering barn for 2 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hen House Manaccan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing